Trim and SSDs

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ivanwi11iams, May 23, 2016.

  1. ivanwi11iams Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    With the latest iMac, in particular, the iMac Late 2015 (1TB Fusion drive), I was under the impression that Trim was active.
    Can anyone confirm this? I was researching online, and to be honest, there is so much data about Trim, it is difficult to say if it is on by default, on the iMac Late 2015.

    Also, a side question. Do you use an external SSD to run your iMac software? Any limitations to doing this?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    TRIM is on with a factory SSD. You can confirm it by looking at the drive in system report in the About this Mac pane.

    If you run an SSD externally over USB, it will work fine, but TRIM does not run over USB is the only issue. For most usage, that is not a big deal.
     
  3. ivanwi11iams thread starter Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    So, with the default 1TB Fusion drive on an iMac Late 2015, TRIM would be active for the 24GB SSD portion?
    Apple really know how to get you, when it comes to hardware and pricing. As an iMac owner, I should be able to change the hard drive in my iMac quite easily, like we can with the memory.

    Ugh, the pain.

    Thanks

     

Share This Page