TRIM enabled, or is it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by herr lofi, Sep 26, 2014.

  1. herr lofi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #1
    Hi,

    Finally got my SSD today and installed it. Did a fresh install of Lion and upgraded to Mavericks. Enabled TRIM in Terminal and rebooted. However, it still says in System Report, under SATA/SATA Express, that TRIM is disabled.

    I've read that in Mavericks it may show that it is disabled when it is actually not, and you should do a before/after benchmark.

    Is there another way?

    SSD is the Samsung 840 Evo 500g.

    Thanks,
    Sebastian
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Terminal might be a bit dodgy in enabling TRIM sometimes.

    Download Cindori's TRIM Enabler and you'll be fine.
     
  3. RareTBone, Sep 27, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2014

    RareTBone macrumors newbie

    RareTBone

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #3
    Trim Issue - Solved

    I can help you and this works. Go to:

    http://www.cindori.org/software/trimenabler/

    Download Trimenabler, install it, click the switch to enable trim.

    I have the exact same drive just the 1TB. I bought 2 so my Mac Pro has 2TB now, 2 separate drives. This worked so easily...no editing in Terminal required.

    Enjoy :cool:
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    That was what I just said in my post above yours - use TRIM Enabler from Cindori.
     
  5. RareTBone macrumors newbie

    RareTBone

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #5
    And I mentioned that in an update to my post that you just mentioned that :cool:
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    Oops didn't see that, sorry :p
     

Share This Page