TRIM enabler don't work with MacBook Pro 2012 ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Exana, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I just install a new Crucial M4 256GB in my new MacBook Pro 15" 2012 (of course, not a Rétina). It try to enable TRIM with lastest TRIM enabler but it does not work. TRIM stay disable.

    :confused: I'am not commun with Lion, I noticed my MacBook Pro runs OS X 10.7.4 11E2617 witch is different from the App Store one.

    PS :Sorry for poor english.
     
  2. Geo411m macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #2
    Did you try rebooting after enabling it? It's working fine on my 2012 Macbook Pro.
     
  3. Exana thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #3
    OMG, no ! I was so tired today, I just forget to do it... :eek:

    I will do it asap.
     
  4. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #4
    I've been running my M4 with heavy usage for over a year without TRIM, and I wouldn't worry about it tbh.
     
  5. Geo411m macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #5
    I can't tell if you're being sarcastic :p
     
  6. Exana thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #6
    I forget to do so, not sarcastic. :)

    But it still does not work. That's more strange. :eek: With Snow Leopard, TRIM enabler asks to reboot. Now, I move the slide to on. I put my password. Some pizza for 1 sec. Then nothing... TRIM not able. Reboot. TRIM not able.

    I won't care too much, Mountain Lion is on the way. TRIM enabler will be update. And... should work ! :D
     
  7. Geo411m macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #7
    That is strange, it should work on Lion. A program called Lion Tweaks also has an option to enable TRIM. You can try that program and see if it makes a difference.
     
  8. Exana thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #8
    Solved

    I use the alternative way to patch kext (http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/). Now TRIM works fine.

    According to me, clearing kext caches solve the issue. So, if you use TRIM Enabler, don't forget to clear your kext caches.

    Thanks for help Geo411m. [​IMG]
     
  9. Geo411m macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
  10. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #10
    I decided not to worry about enabling it on mine. Read that it doesn't make a difference anymore with the new drives.
     
  11. Exana thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #11
    It's still better to have TRIM active specially if you handle often numerous (large) files. If it was useless, Apple won't care to set it active with its own SSD. ;)
     

Share This Page