TRIM for SL on 2011 MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Peter Franks, May 9, 2018.

  1. Peter Franks macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Is it necessary to enable TRIM on a 2011 with a new SSD, and if so, can someone please tell me how. Been reading things about the TRIM enabler downloads that weren't so positive. Is it necessary to do on SSD running Snow Leopard?
     
  2. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #2
    I had a 2011 machine with 2x 1TB RAID ) SSDs and ran trim enabler for a while but after reading that most modern solid state drives have built in garbage collection I disabled it and ran without TRIM for almost three years and the drives were just as fast and reliable as the day I installed them so I don't think TRIM is as necessary as it used to be anymore.
     
  3. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
  4. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4
  5. robvas macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Can you upgrade to a newer OS than SL?

    I think Yosemite is the first version that has it
     
  6. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  7. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #7
    What time frame does it actually start to impact if you don't, I wonder?
    Are you using 3rd party apps to enable or command in Terminal?

    I can, but not mad on them, When you say it 'has it', what do you mean? It can be turned on on that OS?

    Thanks, I've read some things about that, that it can destroy a lot of what it's not supposed to, a lot has been written about kernels, which I know nothing about, other than when it overheats, along with Google helper, kernel task is right there up with it in CPU hotness
     
  8. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #8
    I'm really not sure how long it would take to impact performance as SSDs are so much faster than mechanical drives that it would take a significant slow-down before most people would notice.

    When apple started shipping MacBooks with SSDs, Apple upgraded the OS to enable TRIM for SSDs without the need for using a third-party TRIM program.

    I've been using SSDs for many years in Windows and Mac computers with great reliability. If TRIM at the OS level was causing problems, it probably would have been noticed by now as Windows 7 and macOS have been using TRIM for many years.
     
  9. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #9
    You can use term enabler with snow leopard if I remember correctly from when I upgraded my 2010 in 2011 to an ssd.
     
  10. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #10
    Is TRIM enabler still an option now?
    What's the difference with Free and Paid. I see a lot of people paying for this, but I was under the impression that in the later versions, it's just one line in Terminal to turn it on, but there's a lot of people on there complaining about it on High Sierra. I must be missing something somewhere
    https://cindori.org/trimenabler/
     
  11. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #11
    If you are using an OS version that can be done with a quick line in terminal then sure go for it. If you are using SL then I would go with trim enabler I always used the free version it enables trim and most of the other features are just window dressing.
     
  12. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #12
    Thank you, what is the difference between using the 'sudo trimforce enable' line and the 'trimforce enable line' and which one if I should upgrade to El Capitan?
     

Share This Page