trim not working on 10.9.3

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by star trek, May 15, 2014.

  1. star trek, May 15, 2014
    Last edited: May 16, 2014

    star trek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    #1
    :eek: Trim doesnt work on samsung 830 and trim enabler 322 and chameleon not working to set it ON !!!! DO NOT UNDERSTAND why apple it's soooo .......not allowing trim, even microsoft doesnt make any diference whatever ssd you own but maybe samsung ssd it's a bad choice for APPLE!!!! Please if anyone knows how to set on trim an 10.9.3 let us know !!!! :eek:
     
  2. jbachandouris macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #2
    Works for me. Installing 10.9.3 disabled it. I ran Trim enabler, re-enabled it, and rebooted. Still active.

    I have an EVO 840 Samsung SSD.
     
  3. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Have you tried enabling trim and then restarting your Mac?
     
  4. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #4
    Same here. Certainly worth noting that 10.9.3 disables Trim Enabler, though. Not something I'd have thought to check myself.
     
  5. star trek, May 15, 2014
    Last edited: May 15, 2014

    star trek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    #5
    :confused: At the third time I used trim enabler and rebooted for the 3rd time and magically have trim working....hard to believe but true not my fault !!!!! :D
     
  6. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    It is an OS function that tells a flash storage device like an SSD which cells are cleared and ready to be written to again. You can read about it here.

    It is on by default with Apple flash storage devices, but with aftermarket flash storage it is not turned on by default. There is a hack that modifies a system kext file that enables TRIM on aftermarket drives. Many people use this app to enable the hack.
     
  8. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #8
    Ok thanks. My SSD came with the computer so I'm guessing I don't need to turn it on.
     
  9. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    I ran the terminal command and rebooted several times to no avail. I had to restore permissions and use Chameleon SSD Optimizer and reboot again. Then it worked.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    absolutely no problem in my Mac.

    After upgrade to 10.9.3, the warning from Trim Enabler pop up, and tell me that TRIM is now deactivated (as expected).

    I simply enable it and reboot the computer, and then the TRIM function works again.
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    We wouldn't have to go through this silliness if apple just allowed TRIM to be used for all SSDs not just apple SSDs.

    Looks like its working for most people, but I can understand the frustration.
     
  12. beachmusic, May 16, 2014
    Last edited: May 16, 2014

    beachmusic macrumors regular

    beachmusic

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    St. George Island
    #12
    Tried Chamemeon and when I rebooted the screen turned blue and stayed that way.

    Nevermind, just lost all my settings to EyeTv. Everything else is fine.
     
  13. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    Same here with the Trim Enabler app v3.2.2. after update to 10.9.3. After enabling TE again my MP just would not reboot by showing only the gray screen and not the shut down spinning wheel. Had to force hard-reboot. My 'simple' workaround was app-zapping and reinstalling the TE app. Works fine now.
     
  14. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14
    Far prefer the work by Grant Pannell, works for me on 10.9.3, been using his work since 10.7.
     

Share This Page