Trim on third-party SSDs

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Courageous, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. Courageous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    #1
    Has anyone enabled trim on third-party ssds and have had any problems? I would like to enable it but was a bit cautious because of the warning that's displayed. Is it worth the risk of data loss?
     
  2. StuBFrost macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #2
    I've done it on 3 macs I upgraded without any problems.
     
  3. CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #3
    I did it on a 2011 MBP with no SSD problems.
     
  4. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #4
    No issues on 2011 iMac with Samsung 840.
     
  5. Courageous thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    #5
    Thanks for the responses. I'll enable it then.
     
  6. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    No issues on 2006 Mac Pro with El Capitan and a 3rd party SSD. Haven't tested Sierra for obvious reasons.
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    Many, Many threads on this. And Yes, I have 5 SSDs. All of them Samsung. 1 SM951, 1 840 Pro, 2 840 EVOs, and 1 840. 3 on PCIe cards, 2 in drive bays. All working perfectly with TRIM enabled. cMP 5,1.

    My advice, however, stay away from anything OWC offers.

    Lou
     
  8. MrAverigeUser, Mar 21, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017

    MrAverigeUser macrumors 6502a

    MrAverigeUser

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    #8

    Just a question:

    better activate Trim (by apple) in ElCapitan or stay with Trim enabler by Cindori?

    What do you think?

    I use Samsung 840, 840Pro 840 eve, and 850 eve, 850Pro as well...
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Since Apple allows you to enable with "sudo trimforce enable" starting with Yosemite, there really isn't any reason to use Trim Enabler for this.
     
  10. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    Really doesn't matter. Both do the same thing. But, Apple's method is free. Trim Enabler came out before Apple made it possible to enable TRIM with a Terminal Command.

    Lou
     
  11. MrAverigeUser, Mar 22, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017

    MrAverigeUser macrumors 6502a

    MrAverigeUser

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    #11
    done.
    stopped TrimEnabler, activated "Trimforce" (after backup).
    It´s really that simple. But how uninstall TrimEnabler? Did not find any Uninstaller...
    Do you recommend to use "appCleaner" V 3.4?
     

Share This Page