Trip to New York Advice

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by ddeadserious, Mar 3, 2010.

1. ddeadserious macrumors 6502a

ddeadserious

Planning a trip to New York this Spring to propose to my girlfriend.

I've never been there, but I will be paying [nearly] all of the expenses, so I need some help from people on how much I should plan on spending and on what.

We will be taking a train there from Toledo, OH, so we will not have a vehicle once we arrive.

I've never used public transportation before as a form of getting around(including taxi's :eek:), so what will I be paying to get around?

What are some must see places(other than the obvious)?

Good place to propose? I was thinking Central Park, but I'm open to suggestions.

Where should we stay(remember, I'm kinda on a college student budget here) that is a reasonable price? Would it maybe be cheaper to stay slightly outside the city?

Any other advice is welcome. Thanks in advance!

2. splitpea macrumors 6502a

Honestly, you're much better off not trying to use a car to get around. Traffic's a bitch, and parking is worse. Most NYers use public transport and their own two feet to get around day to day.

Taxis add up quickly, so take the subway as much as possible -- in many cases it's the quickest way to get around, and it's much less expensive than cabs: $2.25 per ride. Don't know how long you'll be there, but get an unlimited-ride Metrocard for each of you: they make 1-day, 7-day, and 30-day passes. If you take more than a couple rides a day, they're a good deal.

One of the first things you do when you arrive should be to pick up a subway map. (Bear in mind that it's not to scale, so you may want a separate map of the city, although above 14th street the grid system is reasonably self-explanatory, and NYers aren't as crotchety as our reputation: you can usually stop someone to ask directions.)