TripCase crashes on Watch

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by testcard, Jun 3, 2015.

  1. testcard macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #1
    Anyone having problems with TripCase on Watch? My TripCase app crashes constantly on opening, and on the advice from TripCase Support removed app, unpaired and paired Watch, and reinstalled app, without success.
     
  2. NewScotland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    #2
    Works fine for me. When I first installed it, my first trip wasn't showing up (the third trip was), but out of the blue it showed up and has been working fine since.
     
  3. menace3 macrumors 6502

    menace3

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    TripCase users. Should I be concerned that unlike the email that I sent, TripCase did not alter the time or account for the time zone change? Trip case shows I will miss my connection by an hour, but the original email does not.
     
  4. NewScotland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    #4
    I have been using Tripcase for years and have never had a problem with the time. It has always shown times for the airport that I am at for that leg - both for arrival and departure regardless of the time zone. That said, my next trip doesn't include time zone changes and that is the only one showing up on my watch, so I cannot confirm that the behaviour of the watch matches the iPhone app. I checked my other trips (that include multiple time zone flights) on the phone and the arrival and departure times are all correct for the time zone of that specific airport. I hope that makes sense.
     
  5. testcard thread starter macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #5
    Installed TripCase v4.0 on my iPhone, but it still crashes on opening on my Watch. Strangely, I did receive a notification on my Watch today that an upcoming flight was on time. Tried everything - removed from Watch, deleted from iPhone, reinstalled on both phone and Watch. Even tried unpairing with previous version of TripCase but nothing seems to work.
     
  6. NewScotland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    #6
    Another thing you can try is to logout from Tripcase on the iPhone and then try some of the install / restart scenarios and try to get it to work on the watch before you log in again. I have had it cache some trip information on the watch even though I was not logged in on the phone, and it did not clear until I did a force touch and refresh. So maybe there is something in one of your trips that is a problem. Just another thing to try if you have not tried it already.

    EDIT: or maybe try to create a new account with no trips and login with that account.
     
  7. testcard, Jun 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2015

    testcard thread starter macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #7
    Deleted all trips, current and past, deleted app. Reinstalled app and logged in, but as soon as I downloaded upcoming trip details, app crashes on launch. I'll try the "new account" approach next.

    Edit: created a new account, and app opens on Watch. However, as soon as I import an upcoming trip, the app crashes immediately. This is becoming annoying.
     
  8. NewScotland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    #8
    Very odd. If you are not getting your itineraries added by sending the confirmation to the trips(at)tripcase.com email address, maybe try that. Sounds like there is something specific to your itinerary.

    That is how I add all of my trip items.
     
  9. testcard thread starter macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #9
    That's what I do, and itineraries appear on both my iPhone and iPad without any problem.
     
  10. Creek0512 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #10
    I just installed TripCase on my Apple Watch and am having issues as well. I just get a spinning blue circle when I open the app on my Watch. Did you ever get it working on yours?
     
  11. testcard thread starter macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #11
    Never did. Always crashed. I emailed TripCase Support. Apparently a fix is in the pipeline. Might be worth emailing them too. Good to know it's not just me.
     
  12. menace3 macrumors 6502

    menace3

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12

    Interesting. It seems to work for me. Even has my upcoming September trip in the details. I'm also comparing it to App in the Air
     
  13. Creek0512 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #13
    I am using the iOS 9 Beta on my iPhone 5s, so that could be part of the problem, but TripCase works fine on my iPhone.
     
  14. testcard thread starter macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #14
    Works fine on my iPhone 6 and always has. It's just my Watch that has the problem. I'm not running any Beta software.
     
  15. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #15
    Never worked on my watch, but works fine on my phone as well
     
  16. testcard thread starter macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #16
    Even with recent updates and Watch OS2 it still crashes.
     
  17. priscilla55 macrumors regular

    priscilla55

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    #17
    It hadn't ever worked at all for me, but this recent update has suddenly made it spring into life. Also got a new phone on launch day of the 6s so maybe the unpairing/ reinstalling helped?
     
  18. testcard, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015

    testcard thread starter macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #18
    Think I might try one more uninstall/install or unpair/re-pair before I give up completely!
    Update: unpair/repair made no difference. Still crashes.
     

Share This Page