Triple display works!

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by elektrobug, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. elektrobug macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #1
    There is confirmation from Macworld that the Radeon GPU 2011 Mac mini versions (2.5 i5 and 2.7 i7 dual core) will support a 3 display setup with two daisy chained thunderbolt displays and the third attached to HDMI port.
     
  2. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #2
    i believe the macbook air is the only mac that has the single thunderbolt display limitation due to it having a cheaper thunderbolt chipset.
     
  3. elektrobug thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #3
    Well Macworld specifically said the Radeon Mac mini as 3 display capable and NOT the other versions. I know about the different thunderbolt chip on the MBA but there might be other limiting factors on the Mac Mini 2.3 and the Server such as the 3000HD chip.
     
  4. Vermifuge macrumors 6502a

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #4
    There has been a lot of back n forth on this but i'm glad to hear it. I'll be getting a new TB Cinema display now!
     
  5. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #5
    that's a good point. as the hd3000 was designed for lower res notebook displays, i don't know if it's capable of driving two 27" 2560x1440 and a 1920x1200 hdmi display. that's 7040x4080 pixels for $3000+. ouch.
     
  6. DisMyMac macrumors 65816

    DisMyMac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    #6
    $3,000 / (7040 * 4080)

    = $ 0.000104445187 per pixel
     
  7. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #7
    if you really needed 3 displays, for that kind of money you'd be better off getting a 27" imac + 27" tb display + 1920x1200 monitor. it would cost a little less and you'd be getting a much better mac. the point i was trying to make is that only a very small minority would drop $2000 for dual tb displays for their $800 mini.
     
  8. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #8
    Hi electrobug,
    what are you trying to achieve with 3 monitors on such a 'MickeyMouse' video?
    I have this vid. card on my workstation PC & I wouldn't hook-up 3 monitors on that...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Vermifuge macrumors 6502a

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #9
    not all of us are in it for gaming. some of us do actual work that needs multiple displays.
     
  10. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #10
    Hi smartass,
    I'm an architect & design custom log homes at the moment on my workstation...
    What kind of 'important' job you're doing?
    Something like this (layers bunched together):
     

    Attached Files:

  11. japtor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #11
    HD3000 only has two outputs, and one of them might be hardwired to the HDMI output, like how on the MBA and 13" MBP it has one output tied to the internal LCD.
     
  12. courteous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    #12
    Well ... does it work?

    Would HD3000 version of 2011 Mini be able to drive 3 monitors (2x 1920x1200 and 1x 2560x1440)?

    Or is ATI 6630 version needed? BTW, has this version any more video outputs (than HD3000)?

    Or won't none of 2011 Minis do for 3 monitors?! :confused:


    Anybody got it working? How would you daisy-chain* Thunderbolt to two Displayport monitors? Any expensive :apple: adapters needed? :rolleyes:

    * if this is indeed the solution

    PS. Yes, I know that iMac would be better value, but you can't rotate the display, huh?
     
  13. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #13
    Why did you get a gaming video card and not a proper workstation card such as a Quadro or FirePro?
     
  14. deafgoose macrumors regular

    deafgoose

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #14
    3 monitors on the mini using 3 thunderbolt displays would not be ideal because the one connected via HDMI would only display 1920x1080 while the other two would be at 2560x1440
     
  15. vaderhater245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #15
    Seems like some people just don't realize a "gaming" gpu still has potential in the work place. I use an eyefinity setup all the time for design and motion projects.
     
  16. courteous, Nov 7, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011

    courteous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    #16
    Doesn't HDMI support 1920x1200 resolution (even from the 1.0 version)? :confused:

    All 3 monitors have both DisplayPort and HDMI (and DVI). If daisy-chained, must both monitors share the same resolution? Or what exactly is involved here?

    If yes, then the 2 1920x1200 monitors should be daisy-chained and the 3rd monitor would have 2560x1440 via HDMI (version 1.3+). Would this work?

    If not, then there's even less problem ... or not? :confused:

    PS. Surely some of you have already tried this out ... and, in 2011, this really should "just work". :(


    Just found that the larger of the 3 is "compatible" with Mac Mini:
    Now, I hope there are no additional adapters needed for the 2 1920x1200 monitors left?
     
  17. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #17
    Sorry for being picky, but bad math makes me sad :p

    3000/((2(2560*1440))+(1920*1200)) = $0.0003100198413 per pixel

    Minor note, yes, but it's still three times as much :)

    Also, for future reference, that's how you combine monitor resolutions, not by just adding together all the horizontal and vertical resolutions into one YxZ measurement.
     
  18. Vermifuge macrumors 6502a

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #18
    Because "he is serious architect"
     

Share This Page