Tripod or Monopod?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by h1r0ll3r, Jun 3, 2011.

1. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

h1r0ll3r

I'm just getting into DSLR photography and most of the critiques I've received so far are about my images being blurry or unstable. Most have suggested that I get a tripod/monopod to rectify this as well as allow me to take some "cleaner" shots.

I'm a bit torn between both of these since each have their own benefits/drawbacks so I wanted to see if anyone had suggestions or feedback regarding their tripods/monopods?

I really like the monopod setup since it'll give me stability on my shots as well as being lightweight. The tripod is also of interest however I'm somewhat concerned over its weight as well as it just being overall bulky/clumsy and longer setup times.

Also, I've seen people talking about quick release plates for their 'pod setups. I'm guessing having one of these would be advantageous however would these plates be considered a must-have if getting a monopod/tripod?

I've never used either so I'm not sure if people have preference for one over the other or if you have both and use them on specific occasions. Any advice/suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. fcortese macrumors demi-god

fcortese

As you pointed out tripods are much more stable and IMO monopods are used mainly in rapid action situations such as sports, etc. There are many different kinds of tripods and not all are heavy and bulky. some of the travel tripods are fairly light. Of course, the high priced carbon fiber variety are light in weight and very heavy on the pocket book. Tripods is probably the better way to go. I use my tripod as a monopod by only extending one leg when I need to capture an action photo.

3. Doylem macrumors 68040

Doylem

Three-legged stool, or one-legged stool? ;)