Trouble After Upgrading 13" MBP 2012 to 16GB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by regalme, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. regalme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #1
    I have a 2012 Macbook Pro 13" that came with 4GB ram (2GB x 2)

    I bought a Corsair 16GB Kit (2 x 8GB) 1600mhz

    After installing, the mac locks up after a few minutes of use, horizontal lines on the screen. I've used the mac hardware tester and the same thing happens, just the horizontal lines are thicker.

    So for testing I used ever combination of the 4 modules I know have, and the only one that duplicates the problem is when the 2 8GB modules are installed.

    I've tried, 8GB + 2GB, swapping out trying each 8GB module, no problems.
    Tried each of the 8GB modules by them selves and no problem.

    Whenever the two 8GB are installed I get the crashes, it even crashes the hardware tester.
     
  2. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  3. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #3
    I have read stories like that here on MR, seems to be a problem with certain memory, other branded RAM seems to solve problems.
     
  4. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #4
    +1

    Most likely a bad RAM stick.
     
  5. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #5
    Just a couple of days or weeks(can't remember) there was a post which had exactly the same problem, he exchanged for a different brand and the problem was solved, it's not the stick which gives the problem, it is a problem when you combine them, he said it works with one stick, any of them just not combined.
     
  6. regalme thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #6
    Well I thought I was doing right by ordering the Corsair Vengeance, it seems to be what most people are using.

     
  7. michial macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #7
    SO is Corsair not a good option? I was just about to buy 8GB from Amazon for $40.00
     
  8. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #8
    Corsair and most other options are just fine. It seems that every manufacturer has a non-insignificant number of bad sticks that make it into the wild. I got a bad G-Skill stick last week in one install & two perfect Corsair sticks in another. Replaced the bad G-Skill stick with a perfect PNY stick. If you read all the reviews on the various sites, the only commonly available discount sticks that seem to have a significantly higher than average failure rate are the Komputerbay ones available on Amazon.
     
  9. ultra7k macrumors 6502

    ultra7k

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #9
    I put in 16GB (8GBx2) of Corsair Vengence (1600Mhz) into my mid 2012 cMBP with no problems. Maybe you just got a bad stick of RAM.
     
  10. Blondie :) macrumors 6502a

    Blondie :)

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    #10
    Definitely exchange your RAM. I had this problem to, and didn't even know it. I upgraded to 8GB of RAM, and everything was fine and dandy until I would use all 8GB of RAM. Then everything went to hell and I had the same problems you do. After I downgraded to 4GB RAM again :( everything was fine. So return your RAM before it's too late!
     
  11. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #11
    Always a good idea to run a couple of MemTest passes after upgrading RAM.
     

Share This Page