Trouble connecting in Acquisition

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by murc585, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. murc585 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #1
    I just downloaded acquisition and I am having trouble connecting to their network. It just says "connecting" and stays like that forever. Does anybody else have this issue or know how to make it work?
     
  2. applefan69 macrumors 6502a

    applefan69

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Medicine Hat
    #2
    I have that issue too actually, Id love an answer to this topic. :)
     
  3. killerwhack macrumors regular

    killerwhack

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #3
    Acquisition

    Are you on Comcast per chance?

    Some ISPs are filtering P2P protocols...
     
  4. murc585 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
  5. craigsharp@spym macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #5
    I'm Having the same issue here, I'm on Cox Communications. Acquisition worked not too long ago, like last week sometime. isn't that illegal on what they can block?
     
  6. GoKyu macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #6
    I'm on Cox cable as well, and Acquisition runs perfectly for me. Now, I went to check my router settings, and I already had several ports open for Limewire as well as for uTorrent, so that may be the reason Acquisition just worked without me having to do anything.

    -Bryan
     
  7. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    I'm in the same boat as you guys. Acquisition worked fine for over a year then last week it just stopped connecting. I'm from Michigan with Wide Open West as my ISP
     
  8. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
  9. payanks00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #9
    Same problem

    I am having the same problem. I live in NJ, and have Comcast. My old iBook connects to Acquisition. I purchased a MacBook on Saturday, and it will not connect to the 206 version.

    I emailed customer support last night, but have not gotten a response back yet.

    Any other sites/programs that do the same?
     
  10. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  11. theom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #11
    me too

    Acquisition stopped connecting for me a few days ago.
    intel macbook, router, cox cable.

    No changes to my rig.

    Was there a tiger update recently that could have affected acquisition?
    I can't remember if my last auto update coincides with acquisition breaking.

    As an experiment I downloaded poisoned and limewire.
    Limewire works fine.

    Poisoned will not connect.

    weird,

    I like Acq much better, but Limewire may get my $ soon if this isn't fixed.
     
  12. allputer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #12
    Acquisition & Tiger

    I just purchased my macbook Pro and tried to use acquisition with my Tiger and it says connecting but never connects. Anyone speak them about this issue? :eek:
     
  13. allputer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #13
    Sorry, correction I tried to connect to acquisition with Leopard not Tiger, seems to be a glitch, sure hope they can send a fix soon if thats the case, I love acquisition!
     
  14. allputer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
  15. islndguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #15
    Same problem

    I had Acquisition working fine and it just stopped connecting. I have it installed on two computers. Macbook and G4. Running 10.4.
    Thought it was my router. It wasn't. Then thought it was my provider??
    Took my macbook to another hotspot and it worked fine.
    To make things worse my wife has a macbookpro running 10.3 and an older Acquisition and hers works fine.
     
  16. LastZion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #16
    haven't been able to connect for over a month.
    On Sympatico in Canada
    I tried changing the ports.... what can be the problem, surely someone must have an answer
     
  17. allputer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #17
    Acquisition

    I am sure it's a problem with acquisition not being compatible with my Leopard because I launched it on my older computer which is still Tiger and it was fine, just won't load on leopard. Acquisition needs to fix this, I really like acquisition but not really anxious to purchase again just for leopard.
     
  18. LastZion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #18
    good call, didn't even think of that
    /edit
    installed build 206 and all is well, no idea what was up
     
  19. payanks00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
  20. allputer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #20
    Trouble with Aquisition

    Hi LastZion, did you say installed build 206? and acquisition is ok now? Can you tell me what build 206 is? Hope I don't sound stupid. :eek:
     
  21. theom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #21
    zero

    still zero network connections here.
    I send an email to the bugreport email addy. Pointed to this forum.
    no replies.

    limewire is looking better and better.

    Acq worked so well. I dont understand how it would just die like this.
    I wish there was more troubleshooting info on the developer site too.

    frustrating.
     
  22. allputer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #22
    acquisition not connecting

    I couldn't get acquisition to connect so I down loaded acqlite it's free and heard it was as good as acquisition, would not connect either! Whats up? Hope to find out what the problem is soon.
    _________________________________
    MacBook Pro 2Ghz 4GB Ram 120 gb HDD
     
  23. ClemsonGLI macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #23
    I too can not get a connection someone help us!:eek:
     
  24. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
  25. islndguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #25
    Down load the new one. It works now.
     

Share This Page