Trouble connecting to NAS

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Zando, Jan 15, 2015.

1. Zando macrumors newbie

I'm new to all things Apple, and I did a search but did not find an answer that helped my situation. I bought an Airport Extreme base station with my new rMBP, then plugged in my USB 2TB WD external hard drive thinking I could get a decent NAS. After I set up the NAS, I was able to connect for a while. However, the next day when I tried to look or put something on the NAS, I could not see or access the drive. I get a message saying '"NAS" can't be opened because the original item can't be found'. When I physically look at the drive, it's still powered up.

The only place I can "see" the drive is going through Airport Utility, and it just shows that it is there. I have file sharing with a disk password enabled. The disk is formatted Mac OS Extended, by the way.

Any ideas for an OS X rookie?

2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

You could try unplugging the drive and plugging it back in.

Otherwise restart the AEBS.

Is the drive self powered (has its own power brick)?

Some USB drive built in sleep modes are not compatible with the AEBS. The drive will go to sleep, but the AEBS can't wake it up.

3. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

I would not describe a USB drive plugged into a router as a NAS.

Your problem might be that the Router is not capable of providing enough power for the drive. Suggest you get one of those Y cables that often come with disc drives and plug the second port into a USB power source.

4. Zando thread starter macrumors newbie

I have unplugged the drive and plugged it back in with no luck. It's a USB 2.0 drive and gets power through the AEBS, no additional plug is needed. I connected the drive to my rMBP and it works like it's supposed to.

I'll look into the sleep mode. Thanks!

5. ColdCase macrumors 68030

You would be wrong, perhaps one could argue performance, but its network attached storage.

6. ColdCase, Jan 15, 2015