trouble installing maverick on new SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by film101, Apr 6, 2014.

  1. film101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    #1
    I have a 2010 mid year MacBook pro with a 512Gb HD using Maverick, which has some disk problems. So I purchased a Samsung EVO 750 Gb SSD. I installed the SSD in my MacBook and have the old HD in a dock adapter to boot the laptop, which I did. I then partitioned the new SSD, which worked fine. However I then attempted to use the Samsung data migration and magician software and found out it was for a PC only.

    How do I now install the Maverick operating system on my SSD and also how do I clone my HD to my SSD. Additionally, I have a Time Capsule but I was informed that restore was only good for the original HD not for the new SSD.

    So I am stuck - would appreciate some help.

    Steve
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Just option key boot from the old HDD the use Disk Utility to format the SSD and clone the OS over. Follow this video.
     
  3. baypharm macrumors 65816

    baypharm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #3
    What I have used with success is Carbon Copy Cloner program. It seamlessly transfers every file on one drive to the other.
     
  4. film101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    #4
    Thanks Weasel Boy - did as you instructed - watched video and it works - except for the fact that it tells me it will take 2 days and five hours complete.

    Why so long?????

    ----------

    wow - now it says it will take w days and 6 hours???

    ----------

    2 days and 6 hours - it increased the time after running for 1 hour
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    How much data is there to move? Your 2010 only has a USB2 connection, so if you have a lot of data it is going to take a while.
     
  6. film101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    #6
    Have 350gb used on a 510 gb HH

    Yes understand but don't understand 60 hours
     
  7. Barney63 macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.
    #7
    That works out at about 1.6MB/s something is amiss there.

    Barney
     

Share This Page