Trouble opening door on iMac to install new RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by scrapulous, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. scrapulous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    It seems that the screw in the memory access door is stripped, and I can't open it to install more RAM. Has anyone else had this problem? The screw just turns and turns and never comes out. I've never opened it before, and I'm the first and only owner of this iMac.

    If I call the Apple store or bring it in and ask for help, will they be able to do anything?

    Thanks.
     
  2. petermcphee macrumors 6502a

    petermcphee

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #2
    The screw won't come all the way out. When you get it loose, try hooking a paper clip into one of the vent holes and pulling it gently down. The screw is attached to the plate to keep you from losing it, presumably.
     
  3. scrapulous thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #3
    Thank you! That worked. I didn't want to do it initially because I didn't want to ruin anything. And then once it was open I had to push the RAM in really hard, and I was afraid I'd bend the little teeth, but it's all good.
     
  4. petermcphee macrumors 6502a

    petermcphee

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #4
    I just looked around my desk. I stuck the paperclip that I use for the RAM door in the box that my Applecare came in. It's been one of the handier tools to have around!

    Enjoy the new RAM in your iMac!
     
  5. 1dogtrainer macrumors newbie

    1dogtrainer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    orlando
    #5
    Adding memory

    I want to add more memory to my iMac and yesterday while watching an install video on YouTube, the guy installed Kingston Value Ram 2GB x2 boards. He installed these on the same Mac that I own, OS X 10.4.11 Intel Core 2 Duo. He installed Notebook Ram part # DDR 2 PC2-5300 667 MHz.
    Installing looked simple enough and I'm not afraid to do it. The problem is, when I went to the Kingston website looking for this part #, it was nowhere to be found. The guy on the video said he just bought the memory this past September.
    I'm no computer whiz so now I don't know what to buy! Any ideas?
    Also, I stupidly called Apple Support yesterday thinking I was going to talk to a Mac genius. Uh huh. I had a few questions about upgrading from Tiger to Leopard, buying an external hard drive to back up files and what not. His middle eastern accent was so thick I could hardly understand what he was saying but managed to muddle through the conversation. On the external hard drive for backing up files he told me that I need to buy one with at least 500 GB. Now, I looked at these on the Internet and of course there is a wide selection along with some eye-widening prices. From what I gather, I would be better off buying a hard drive that uses firewire instead of USB. I can get one for little under two-hundred bucks. I guess it will be well worth it if anything should happen to my files.
    Ok, here's the hilarious part of my conversation with the Apple rocket scientist: We were discussing upgrading to Leopard. I was considering it because of some nifty new features and I want to install Windows on my Mac. When I started adding up all these things I need I mentioned that Leopard costs around $180.00 or so depending on where it's purchased. Mr. Science guy said this to me: "Why don't you go into a Mac forum and ask someone to give you their copy of Leopard so you don't have to buy one?" I replied by saying, "Isn't that illegal?" He chuckled and said, "Well, no one has to know, right?" Yeah. Right.
    Like I said, I'm no computer whiz but I know that sharing software just isn't the thing to do and I was amazed that this Apple dude actually suggested this to me. I think he must be the apple that spoiled the whole bunch.
    Anyway...to make a long story longer....
    Can someone tell me which items would be best to install on my Mac?
    An external hard drive for backing up files-500 GB (go easy on my purse now),
    At least 2GB of ram
    Buy Leopard for installing Windows or keep Tiger and buy Windows Vista and Windows Parallel? I figured that if I bought Leopard I would be out a little more money (still have to buy Windows) but at least I would have an upgrade from Tiger.

    The day I got rid of my PC with Windows XP on it I had a weird feeling I should have kept it along with my Mac. Go figure.
     
  6. pikori macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    #6
    ram door stuck.

    i have problem like yours before. i took my iMac to a repair center nearby to upgrade my ram from 2GB to 4GB. Sadly, the ram door was stuck and they were trying to pull it out but the screw is the one that made it stuck. They even use hard tools and try to pull the door out. in the end, they have to break the ram door. Now, the new 4GB ram is in but sadly, without ram door to cover it. plus, my iMac got a small scratches below it.

    :(
     
  7. rayward macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    I used Parallels to clone my WinPC onto my iMac. That way I did get to keep both! I only use the clone to run Quicken, so I am anxiously awaiting news of Quicken for Life to see whether I can finally switch to a Mac version of the software.
     
  8. gotanimac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #8
    Same thing just happened to me. Got a small scratch on the bottom because of it.. the very left screw stripped and i had to break the access door to get to it. I couldnt get the screw out, I tried to use a screw repair tool to pull it out and it just pushed it into the plastic by the ram, so I've decided to stop fooling with it and just let it sit there... hopefully will do no harm w/o the ram access door.
     

Share This Page