Trouble Sending PM

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by bunnspecial, Mar 8, 2015.

  1. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #1
    I just spent a few minutes typing up a response to a PM I'd received, and saw the below page when I attempted to respond.

    I've sent hundreds of PMs on this site, and exchanged multiple PMs with this particular member(he is one of my friends on the site). I had originally included a link to a page at OWC(which I wouldn't think would be a problem) in my PM. I tried deleting the link and resending, but still got the same error.

    Any idea about what's going on?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    Okay, to extend things a little bit further-

    I was just able to reply to a different member without any trouble.

    I tried answering the initial PM that prompted this post again, and got the same error as pictured. I tried sending a new PM to that member(not replying to the existing one) and got the same response.

    As I said, the member I'm having trouble sending a message to is on my friend list, and is someone with whom I've exchanged a number of PMs in the past.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Send me a PM with the name of the member you are trying to message and I'll ask the site admins to take a look at this for you.
     
  4. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    I have done so. Please let me know if for some reason it didn't come through.
     
  5. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    We have the information we need for now, and we're looking into it.
     
  6. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    This same issue popped up again a few minutes ago when I was attempting to post a new thread.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    I finally got the thread posted, but ended up doing it piece-meal.

    It would give me the above error when I posted about buying RAM. I tried to past that section of the post here, but it also kicked back the same error. I did originally mention a well-known company that supplies parts for old(and current) Macs, but edited the statement I made to exclude a vendor reference. I finally had to reword it completely to get it to go through.

    In any case, the original PM that started all of this also mentioned the same vendor as a potential source for a replacement battery. I'm wondering if that's the issue, although I've seen the vendor mentioned plenty of times on this website.
     
  8. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    Can one of the mods/admins provide some insight as to why the below block of text might be found to be objectionable by the forum software?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Just to confirm, you are using the same machine with Firefox from the previous screenshot?

    So you cannot make a forum post that mentions OWC and if you remove OWC, it goes through?

    What's up with the green text underlines in your screenshot there? I wonder if you have some sort of adware installed that is causing the green underlines and also this posting problem?
     
  10. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    Yes, this is all happening on the same computer-a Macbook Pro running 10.9. I tried the same post with Safari, and got the same error.

    The green underlines are because after the post didn't go through, I copied and pasted it into Word. I spent a long time writing it, so didn't want to lose it. The above screen cap was taken in Word. I tried copying and pasting it into this post, and it was still kicked back.

    At one point, I'd edited that block of text to omit the mention of OWC-I just changed to say something like "these are available online" without referencing a specific vendor. I finally edited it to read

    And it went through.

    Here's the full post

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1865395

    At this point, I'm just curious about why the above text caused the issues I was having.
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Odd. As you see, I can mention OWC with no issues.

    Doctor Q is subscribed to your thread here, so let's see if he has any ideas. I have not seen reports from anybody else with this issue though.
     
  12. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12
    Thanks-as I said at this point I'm more curious about what of the above was triggering this error so that I can avoid it in the future.

    I thought it might be something to do with OWC, since the PM that gave me trouble a while back also discussed them as a source for a replacement battery. Obviously, mentioning OWC itself isn't a problem, as you and I both have mentioned them numerous times in this thread.

    I can't imagine that listing the specifications for RAM and mentioning how many I was going to buy would be an issue either, unless I'd inadvertently tripped some sort of spam filter or something in the way I phrased it.
     
  13. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #13
    I saw a similar error(although I hit the back button before I thought to screen cap it) when trying to edit a Wanted to Buy post to WTB(ended). The edit did go through, but I still saw the error message.

    Here's the thread in question.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1858374
     

Share This Page