Trouble Setting Up New Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by OmegaRed1723, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. OmegaRed1723 macrumors 6502

    OmegaRed1723

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Waste
    #1
    I just turned on my new Mac Mini (June 2010 edition), connected to a Sharp Aquos 42" LCD tv via HDMI. The computer boots and displays the Apple logo, then the screen cuts out for a moment and displays the following:

    [​IMG]

    The wheel just spins and spins, and doesn't proceed any further. I've never encountered this on any of my MacBook Pro's, and I'm not exactly sure how to describe the problem in a Google search.
     
  2. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
  3. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #3
    That's the bottom of the magic mouse, highlighting the on/off button. Flip switch to on.
     
  4. OmegaRed1723 thread starter macrumors 6502

    OmegaRed1723

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Waste
    #4
    Jeez, is that what that is....the underside of a mouse?! Thanks for the quick reply. I would have been up till 4 in the morning otherwise.
     
  5. Orange™ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #5
    ???

    It doesn't come with a mighty mouse, right?
    Does this mean that you have to use a mighty mouse (purchased separably) or can you use any mouse so long as it's connected to the mini?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  6. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #6
    Doesn't matter, you're just going to need a mouse or keyboard to get through the setup process. Did mine at work today with a Microsoft mouse;)
     
  7. OmegaRed1723 thread starter macrumors 6502

    OmegaRed1723

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Waste
    #7
    I didn't have any mouse attached at all, which was the problem. I was planning on fumbling through the setup with just a keyboard attached, then download & run the Rowmote Helper so I could use my iPad as the trackpad. As soon as I dug out a mouse and plugged it in, all systems were go. Never had a wireless mouse, so I never would have figured it out. Shame on me...I've had Macs since the IIGS, and I got hung up on this??
     
  8. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #8
    no offense to the OP, but this is funniest thing i've read all day. :D
     
  9. UserName macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
  10. OmegaRed1723 thread starter macrumors 6502

    OmegaRed1723

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Waste
    #10
    Agreed. That's what I get for trying to set things up after a 12 hour workday. Brain = mush. I felt like my 80 year-old grandmother!
     
  11. UserName macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    #11
    Don't worry... We have all been there :D

    Sent from my iPhone using Soapbox Forum Reader
     

Share This Page