Trouble with handbrake

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ethan101, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. ethan101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #1
    i am using handbrake for the first time
    i insert a dvd
    close dvd viewer and open handbrake
    choose my source
    select the longest title run time
    choose preset for ipod touch
    click start

    the problem i have is that it stops after a few seconds says it is done and only has the first 30 seconds of the movie playing .(casino royale)

    But with another dvd such as Miami vice it appears to be working fine.

    THanks
    Ethan
     
  2. touchher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #2
    Make sure that after it scans the DVD that under the source section in the "Title" tab that you select the longest one
     
  3. ethan101 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #3
    longest title

    under the title tab i am selecting the longest one its something like 2h34m12s.
    i am starting to think that maybe the dvd is protected in some way (casino royale)

    becasue so far miami vice is working
    Ethan
     
  4. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #4
    Are you using a Mac or Windows? Casino Royale does have some ripping issues, though. Try another DVD just to be sure you're doing everything right. I'm trying to remember how I ripped that movie. I think I used MacTheRipper v3. I usually rip disks with MTR to my HDD before I convert them with Handbrake. HB does a good job with most encryption (on OSX, the Windows version doesn't deal with decryption at all, as far as I know), but there's a few discs that give it trouble.

    Plus, encoding from HDD I can get 200fps+ (when doing quick and dirty MPEG4) whereas I cap out around 60fps doing direct from disc. I queue up a bunch of videos to encode over night/while I'm at work, so having them all on the HDD is much simpler.
     
  5. ethan101 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #5
    Handbrake

    i am using osx and handbrake ripping it to my hard drive first.

    i am almost done ripping miami vice so i am thinking that it is casino royale giving me a problem not handbrake. but let me know if u remember how u did it or if u have a better process then just using handbrake

    Ethan
     
  6. Tmacfan4321 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    University Park, PA
    #6
    Sorry to Hijack but, can you use DVDecryptor to rip the file and use HandBreak to convert it?
     
  7. Slip macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #7
    Is DVDecrypter Windows? I think that you would have to use something like iSquint to convert the file, Im not sure if Handbrake can do that, its more designed for DVD ripping
     
  8. Tmacfan4321 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    University Park, PA
    #8
    Yeah, its windows. It basically makes a ripped file that can be converted by another program. Is iSquint a mac converter?
     
  9. Slip macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #9
    Yeah it is, its usually used to squash movie files down to transfer to iPods
     
  10. touchher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #10
    if you need to decrypt it, use anydvd (google search), works great for windows.
     
  11. JurgenWigg macrumors 6502

    JurgenWigg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    Delaware
    #11
    I had trouble ripping Casino Royal as well. For me it was a problem with the extra settings that I had to let go...
     
  12. wildcardd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #12
    Yep, I had the same problem with Casino Royale. To fix it, I skipped ch 1 and just ripped the rest 2-XX. I thought it was a scratched disc or something.
     
  13. ethan101 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #13
    skip ch 1

    yeah i was going to try skipping chapter 1 and just rip the rest. ill try that tonight. thanks

    Ethan
     
  14. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #14
    You mean using MacTheRipper to rip the disc to your drive first, as HB only rips and encodes in one pass. The more I think about it, I'm sure I had trouble with Casino Royale with HB and MTR2.x. Wasn't until I got MTR3 that it worked right for me. It definitely did work right eventually, though, as I have the h264 file in my video library... so keep trying, it'll work eventually.
     
  15. iLoveiPod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #15
    screw handbrake...I use a combo of mac the ripper and visual hub. Fastest DVD rip/convert process out there...plus, the video is the best quality ive seen.
     
  16. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #16
    HB destroys VH in pretty much every aspect, when you are converting DVDs. Speed, quality, options, ease of use... everything.

    VH is a great app, don't get me wrong, but for converting non-DVD material to another format.
     

Share This Page