trouble with parallels 6 and win 7

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jowens43, Jun 15, 2011.

1. jowens43 macrumors newbie

Hi there

I am new to the Mac,am experiencing difficulty adding windows 7 to my IMAc.
    Please indulge me with the lengthy account. While attempting to install win 7,get error msg,Windows detected that this computer has 368MB of ram,512MB is required for installation,installation cannot proceed.

Thanking in advance for any assistance received,

J.

Here are my specs;
    IMAC Model IMAC Model Id IMAC 7.1
    Processor 2.4 Ghz Intel Core2 Duo
    Memory 1Gb 667mhz DDR2 SDRAM
    L2Cache 4Mb
    Bus Speed 800Mhz
    Boot Rom Ver IM 71.007A800,upgraded from original OS10 Leopard 5.8
    Parallels 6
    Windows 7 Home Premium Svc Pack 1
    I see also,Volume 319.73Gb 312.84 Available.

Thanks Again

2. VulchR macrumors 68020

VulchR

Before I start, I have only Parallels 5 with WinXP, but I believe I might have the answer to your question.

I believe that as the error message suggests, you're simply running out of RAM memory for the virtual Windows machine. In the version of Parallels I have, one can adjust the amount of RAM dedicated to the virtual machine (under the Virtual Machine ... Configure menu, and going to the general tab). It sounds like you need to dedicate at least 500 MB of RAM to the virtual machine, but as I recall the default for virtual machine RAM in Parallels is 300-400 MB. Thus, it sounds like simply a matter of increasing the virtual machine's default RAM to the Win7's minimum of 500MB.