Trouble with Viber

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by zidge1751, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. zidge1751 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I am having strange issues on 2 different iPhone 4's with Viber

    First issue is on an iPhone 4 running version 4.3.5. All of a sudden I can no longer access the app. I touch the icon and it blinks and goes back to the home screen. I tried re installing the app but the same problem.

    I have seen this behavior before on a friends phone but it was because their apps were severely outdated. Once I updated all their apps the issue went away.

    Second problem is on a new 4 running OS5. Viber keeps defaulting back to the setup page. I have set it up like 4 times now and it works at first but after a few minutes it goes back to the screen like I was a new customer.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated:)
     
  2. zidge1751 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #2
    WOW almost 200 views and no one has had something similar happen.

    Didnt I see a post or 2 from someone who said they are with the development team? If no one knows whats wrong can someone point me to a real way to contact viber not just the faqs?
     
  3. Viber macrumors 6502

    Viber

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #3
    Hi,

    This is a member of the Viber Development Team.

    I need few details in order to locate the problem:
    * Which Viber version do you use on each device?
    * Do you use the same phone number for both devices?

    Thanks,
    Viber Team
     
  4. TheProudDonkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #4
    Viber issues

    Hi
    The viber versión is the last one 2.1.1.126
    There is only one number registered for the device
    The problem is that even though the program opens as usual, it is able to send free msgs but when i try to call , it does nothing and there is not even an error msg.
    I have not made any changes in my Internet connections and I even tried using my neighbor's Internet with the same results

    This problem started yesterday afternoon

    Thanks for your help
     
  5. Viber macrumors 6502

    Viber

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #5
    Hi,
    We believe we found the source of the problem - it starts after you try to call someone whose Viber account is old. We hope to implement a fix within the next several days. Meanwhile, try uninstalling then reinstalling the problem again, and see if now you can also call people.
     
  6. Gretyl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #6
    cannot send sms or make a call on my iPhone 4 using viber

    hi! I have installed viber on my iPhone4 but ever since i've been having trouble using it to send sms nor to make a call. when receiving a call also it drops. when i tried to make a call it always prompt me this message "An internet connection is required to place free Viber calls. Check your connection and try again. Place a regular call instead?". What does that mean? coz my phone is already connected to a wifi hotspot. please help.
     
  7. Viber macrumors 6502

    Viber

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #7
    It could be that the network you are connected to is blocking Viber's traffic.

    1. First, please try uninstalling and reinstalling Viber when connecting to a few different WiFi networks (in order to pinpoint the source of the problem). What are the results?
    2. Also, please make sure the following ports are enabled on your routers or firewalls:
    TCP: 5242 + 4244
    UDP: 5243 + 9785

    (if you are not sure how to enable ports, you may contact your router manufacturer)
     
  8. mayywu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #8
    Viber not working on my iphone 4s

    I have an iPhone 4S running 5.1.1. I installed and de-installed and re-installed Viber many times in the past few months and it still doesn't work for me. I complete the setup but none of the contacts from my phonebook appear in the Viber contact list. When someone calls me, I receive the call OK but when I try to add that person into the contact list, they do not appear. All I have are empty database. Every now and then when I try to do things in Viber, it bounces me out. Can someone help me? Is there something wrong with my phone? The current Viber version I installed is 2.2.1.207. BTW, I have tried loading it in Hong Kong (carrier PCCW) and in the US (carrier AT&T), still don't work. Thanks.
     
  9. Viber macrumors 6502

    Viber

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #9
    Hi,

    It could be that the network you are connected to is blocking Viber's traffic.

    1. First, please try uninstalling and reinstalling Viber when connecting to a few different WiFi networks (in order to pinpoint the source of the problem). What are the results?
    2. Also, please make sure the following ports are enabled ("forwarded") on your routers or firewalls:
    TCP: 5242 + 4244
    UDP: 5243 + 9785

    (if you are not sure how to enable ports, you may contact your router manufacturer)

    Alternately, please read this quick-page in our HelpDesk, outlining some possible workarounds that will help reboot synchronization of the contact list: http://bit.ly/rRtPqk
     
  10. mayywu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #10
    Hi, it still doesn't work when I use different networks. I can use Viber to call and receive calls, but when I create new contact from my recent incoming call, the contact still does not appear on the Contact list. So I have no viber contacts nor any contacts. Any clue as to why?
     
  11. Viber macrumors 6502

    Viber

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #11
    Have you thoroughly read the page in the link that I provided? It outlines some workarounds for the problem you're describing.
     

Share This Page