True cost of first time ownership? Software, hardware, etc

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by orion2480, Jul 1, 2009.

1. orion2480 macrumors newbie

I'm *this* close to buying a 15" MBP as a first time Mac. I will likely use it as a dual boot machine w/ Win7 using Bootcamp, though that might change depending on how much I enjoy using OSX.

My main hesitation right now is that I really don't know anything about owning a Mac, and so don't know what other hits my wallet might take after buying the MBP. What software is considered "must have" by Mac owners? What software isn't quite "must have", but are considered killer apps for the Mac that are not free?

I realize that this largely depends on what I'll be using it for. I'm a developer, and will likely want to dabble in iphone/ipod touch development. I know you have to have an Apple Developer membership to actually publish an app, but are there other hurdles simply for development?

I'll also be using it for photos (mostly management, not really editing beyond the standard red-eye reduction, contrast adjustments, etc), syncing my iPod touch. One thing I can't do w/ my Touch right now on windows is sync my contacts/calendar very easily - does that require specific software on the Mac? Do I have to use the Mac email software in order for good contact/Calendar synching? Or are there other options?

One thing I like to do with my Windows machines is rip my DVD collection for watching them on the road. How hard is it in OSX to mount DVD images? How hard is it in MAC to rip images from optical media for fair use? (as in I own it)

Aside from that, I do gmail for my email, and might use Google Docs for "office document" style work (how is iWork?)

And is it possible to run a Windows installation both as a dual boot (via Bootcamp) but also using the same partition to drive a virtual environment, such as inside Parallels or VMware?