True or False - Max 500GB HD for MacBookPro 3.1

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by appeardk, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. appeardk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #1
    Hi

    I have a MacBook Pro 3.1 - I have read a few places that there is a limit to how big the hard drive can be, and others that say 1tb drives will work without a hitch.

    I have just installed a Seagate Momentus 7200.4 2.5" - 750GB (SATA-300), but the drive doesn't show up in disk utility when I boot from the Mountain Lion USB boot disc. It's a Macbook pro 17"

    Do I need to set a jumper-pin or is the drive somehow not compatible?


    Thanks
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It doesn't matter what the capacity is, as long as the drive physically fits and has the proper connectors. There is no capacity limitation except in the OS, which is far beyond any drives on the market.
     
  3. BlaqkAudio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Some things to try:
    -Disable SMS in terminal: sudo pmset -a sms 0
    -Check if the drive works in an external enclosure
    -Upgrade the firmware using another computer
     
  4. appeardk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #4
    Thanks to both of you guys! I will explore the problem further - good to know it's not something as trivial as a HD limit.

    What a great forum this is!
     
  5. reddrag0n macrumors 6502

    reddrag0n

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Just to let you know, i have a Samsung 640 GB in my Macbook pro 3,1 and it reads it just fine.
     
  6. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #6
    Most of the so called limits are only because at the time of purchase that was the biggest drive available that would fit.
     

Share This Page