trust funds

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by jkcerda, Jun 13, 2017.

1. jkcerda macrumors 6502

jkcerda

anyone set up one? thinking about setting it up for the family in case I croak out on the road.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

3. jkcerda thread starter macrumors 6502

jkcerda

looking into it, but I wanted a perspective of those who have done it first.

4. Gregg2 macrumors 603

Yes, should help the heirs stay out of probate.

5. jkcerda thread starter macrumors 6502

jkcerda

TRYING to figure out the difference between it and the will.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2017 ---
    looks like a trust & a trust fund are 2 different things :p

6. A.Goldberg macrumors 68000

A.Goldberg

Further reason to talk to a financial planner. ;)

7. OriginalAppleGuy macrumors 6502

OriginalAppleGuy

I have some previous experience in this field. Many things come in to play with planning your estate. As you have medical specialties, there are also specialties within the field of law. It's imperative you speak with an estate attorney, not a generalist. Depending on the complexity of your estate, someone with a CFP (certified financial planner) may be very important. Check their status online if they say they have it.

There are many types of trusts and they may be different depending on the country you live in. A "trust fund" is really just a trust that owns assets to periodically pay out. The key factors that come in to play for which type of trust is best for you may include:

• Estate total net worth
    • Type of assets to protect (including real estate owned across state lines - this is a really big deal)
    • Ages of beneficiaries.
    • Life Insurance in force (I list this separately because the face value comes in to play for total estate net worth and most people don't realize how much of a role it can play).