Trying to Connect my apple display... what is this connection

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kylecib123, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  2. kylecib123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO USA
    #3
    well... i'm told that it is, but the standard dvi has a flat pin on one end of it. apparently if you break off the flat pin it will work but I dont want to break the pin off of my apple display. I guess that I could buy a standard dvi adapter I could do that... but I would rather jut buy the correct adapter.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    It looks like DVI but... [​IMG] It's not in the list!
     
  4. kylecib123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO USA
    #5
    apparently it provides 2 dvi connections from a single output.... I just can't figure out the name of it... to buy an adapter
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  6. northernbaldy macrumors 6502a

    northernbaldy

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Location:
    the north, UK
    #7
    my dell work station at the office had one of these (until I replaced the graphics card) you need an adaptor that splits off to two normal DVI connectors

    I have two of these adaptors spare, but i'm not in the office until wednesday

    if you get really stuck, I can post one out to you (but I'm in the UK)
     
  7. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
  8. kylecib123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO USA
    #10
    I am trying to help my aunt out by fixing her old dell. I think that its an old ATI card... but I can't connect a monitor to boot up to see... and the card doesn't have any markings on it. All I have is an apple display and I tried the onboard vga connection but it says that it has an alternate video configuration and won't boot via vga. I may just give it back to her...or just do her a favor and throw it in the dumpster
     
  9. northernbaldy macrumors 6502a

    northernbaldy

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Location:
    the north, UK
    #11
    take the additional card out and use the onboard VGA?
     
  10. kylecib123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO USA
    #12
    yeah I'll try that Northern... Thanks for your help everybody. I truly appreciate it!
     

Share This Page