Trying to find a MAC address for a printer

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by hakr100, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. hakr100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #1
    I have several printers, and I need to obtain the MAC address for one of them so I can assign it a fixed IP address.

    Using Lion's Network Utility, I pinged the printer and got the following:

    [​IMG]
    ping brother printer by hakr100, on Flickr

    I had thought the ping would return the MAC address but it didn't.

    Suggestions to get the MAC address?

    Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Is the MAC address maybe listed in the bottom of the actual printer on the sticker where the model and some other data is listed?
     
  3. hakr100 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    Nope. You'd think it would be but it isn't.
     
  4. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #4
    Ping the printer again. In a terminal window enter the command "arp -a". That will print the ARP table (which translates IP addresses to MAC addresses on the local LAN). Look for the appropriate IP address. There's your answer.
     
  5. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #5
    I've had luck on multiple printers having the printer print a test page.

    The MAC address is usually amount the information printed on the page depending on the printer.

    EDIT: I should have mentioned that it's NOT on the test page you can sent to it from OSX, but often times on the test or status page you can print from the printer itself.
     
  6. TheIntruder macrumors 6502a

    TheIntruder

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #6
    Print out the printer's Network Configuration report.

    If you don't know how, consult the manual, or Brother's support site.

    You fail to note the model of printer in question, but on the MFCs, it's as simple as navigating to the appropriate menu. On models that lack a display, there is probably a key press sequence that will issue the appropriate command.
     

Share This Page