Trying to find power adapter for Maxtor drive

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Boise Jim, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. Boise Jim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #1
    Hello all-
    I am building a home theater PC (ack- Windows based!) because AppleTV is just too limiting, and I need flexibility. My problem is that I want to use an older Maxtor drive I pulled from my iMac in the HTPC. Problem with the drive is that it doesn't have your standard HD power connection, but rather a three pin configuration- one rectangle and a circle.
    Anyone know where I could get a power cord, or an adapter, or do I have to get a new circuit board for it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. srexy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #2
    A model number will be useful here...

    But this begs the question - why are you trying to install what is obviously an ancient drive into a new system when you can get massive storage for relatively cheap these days?
     
  3. Boise Jim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #3
    Because I have a couple HD's laying around doing nothing and I would like to reuse them in a new system and not have to buy another one. I really don't consider a Maxtor SATA drive (7200 rpm) an ancient drive. Yes, it is a little small, but this drive is only going to be used for the OS, odd files and things like that. The other drive is where all the 'meat' of the HTPC will be- music and video files, DVR (down the road), etc.

    The model # is Maxtor Diamondback 10, 6L160MO
     
  4. VoR macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    He's calling it an ancient drive because you described a 3 pin power connection and you're talking about replacing circuit boards etc...
    Surely it's either going to be a 4pin molex connector or a 15 pin sata connector? Are you trying to do something incredibly silly?
     
  5. roidy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #5
  6. srexy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #6
    Sorry that came off as so harsh. It did sound like an ancient drive but 160gb sata will be fine for OS ++.

    Perhaps you could post a pic of the connector - never heard of a setup like that.
     

Share This Page