Trying to get a GTX680 into our Mac Pro 3.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tyuuude, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. Tyuuude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    #1
    Hey new to this forum, we are trying to upgrade the GT 120M in the Mac Pro 3.1 we are using at work. We are running Os X 10.9.5. We bought a Gigabyte GeForce GTX680 as a replacement card. we got the drivers installed and waiting for the 6pin to 6pin pcie cable to arrive since we only had 1 6to8ping cable. do we need to do anything else? i read a lot of stuff about "flashing" gpus and only some cards working. being a windows user this stuff is pretty confusing for me.

    thx for helping :)
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Because it is a PC card, it won't have boot screens. You won't see anything until MacOS loads up far enough to initialize the card. If you are fine with this, then you don't have to flash it.

    However, the 680 is very easy to flash if you have Windows on your Mac, or a Windows PC that you can put the card into (see the instructions in my sig). This will essentially turn the PC card into a Mac card, giving you boot screens and other minor benefits.
     
  3. Tyuuude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    #3
    wow didnt expect to get an answer well the faq told me that we could have problems with the power output because it needs 1 6pin and 1 8 pin cable to power it up
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    I'm not aware of any GTX680 that doesn't fit in the power profile for a Mac Pro. There are much more power demanding cards being used.
     
  5. Tyuuude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    #5
    okay i guess iwas jsut confused by the Faq sticky that talked about problems with 6to6pin + 6to8pin cards

    thx a lot
     

Share This Page