Trying to get my budget to work in the Numbers program

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Anthony1985, May 19, 2010.

  1. Anthony1985 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #1
    Hey all........ I just recently got a MacBook- I'm new to the Mac world, but so far I love it and its worlds better then Windows 7 or anything else I've used. I'm picking up everything ok, except for a few little things. My biggest problem is in the "Numbers" spreadsheet program. I've searched the help topics and cant figure out how to make the numbers in my budget add up. For example:

    Paycheck- $500
    Rent-$100
    Food-$50
    Car-$25
    Total Expenses- $175
    Difference between income and expenses: ....?

    I cant get it to fill in the gap between the income and expenses so I know how much I have left over without having to do all the math myslef. Excel used to do this, is there a way to make Numbers do it too?

    Thank you so much for your help
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    A1 Paycheck- $500
    A2 Rent-$100
    A3 Food-$50
    A4 Car-$25
    A5 Total Expenses- $175
    A6 Difference between income and expenses: ....?

    A5: =A2+A3+A4
    A6: =A1-A5

    Why isn't it as simple as that? (I use Excel.)
     
  3. Anthony1985 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #3
    where do I type that stuff in to add those up?
    I honestly know nothing about spreadsheets
     
  4. ashameer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #4
    Just enter your values in numbers, make sure the cell is formated as Numer or Currency, you can find that in the Information window.

    Then set up the calculations simply by typing =A1+A2 etc. to calculate the epxpenses, do the same with your earnings and set up field with the balance
    =A5-A4 thats it. It works the same as in Excel. Or use the Budget template from numbers.
     
  5. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #5
    Right concept. Not using same cell "names" as the example I posted above.

    I edited that to include the equal sign, and that's exactly what to type in those cells. You'll get the hang of it. You just have to provide the cell names and the operation you want done in the cell where you need the results to show up.
     
  6. Anthony1985 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #6
    Thanks for the tips...... I tried typing exactly that and it gives me an error saying

    The operator "=" expects a number, date or duration, but cell A2 contains a string

    Im using the budget template that came with Iworks, and I have cells A2-A13 as my bills.
     
  7. Anthony1985 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #7
    Nevermind I just figured it out......... thanks so much guys!
     

Share This Page