Trying to get paid...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mooseface, Aug 9, 2010.

1. mooseface macrumors member

I did an editing job recently and I think the 'director' is trying to stiff me on payment. It was only an amateur editing job but cash is cash. He left a external HDD with the rushes on with me which is currently at my old flat, which I have moved out of (left the HDD with friends there). Am I within my rights to withhold this as collateral? I don't think he's going to come through so I might as well get something out of it.

2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

IANAL (I Am Not A Lawyer) but I'm going to guess and say you do not have the legal right to keep his property (I'm assuming he bought the HDD and did he shoot the footage that is on the HDD).

The time to say "hey, where's my money" is before you hand over the finished project to him.

Lethal

3. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

MattSepeta

Hmmm... One tactic I have seen recommended over at CreativeCow time and time again is to get a hold of the offenders home phone number, and call with the intention of getting ahold of the offenders spouse. Explain the situation "Hey, I was looking for "Offender X" but now that I have you on the line, can you please relay a message to Offender? He is remiss in his payment by ___ days, and would appreciate it if you could relay the message"

Happy spouse = happy home.

But I'm sorry, that is a hard situation.... :(

4. pprior macrumors 65816

I'm also not a lawyer, (but I did stay at a holiday inn express last night...).

You can't take someone's property as collateral unless it's in an contract.

If you gave the final product before being paid, well then you screwed up. count it as a lesson learned.

Unless you're dealing with corporate America (and even then consider otherwise!) always have payment in hand (and check cleared the bank!) before releasing final product.