Trying to hook up LG Blu-ray external Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by yomango, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. yomango macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #1
    Does anyone was successful playing Blu ray on the MacBookpro using the External LG Bluray Drive .Model # Quad -interface " 5.25" Optical Drive External Solution . LG # WHO8LS20

    So far my laptop can see the device but cannot play the Blu ray disc .
    When I open the Blu ray disc , I see 3 folders ...nothing else...
    For the software part , I am using Cyberlink Power DVD 9 for windows 7 .
    If anyone is successful ,feel free to contact me .

    Thanks a million ,

    Yomango:)
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Is PowerDVD giving you an error or is it just doing nothing when you point it at the movie?
     
  3. yomango thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #3
    Trying to Hook up LG Blu Ray external Drive .


    Yes I got an error message ;

    " DVD error "

    Error Code ; 8876086A

    Internal error


    Any solutions????:confused:

    Thanks .
    Yomango
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  5. yomango thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #5
    Trying to Hook up LG Blu Ray external Drive .


    Strange ..it's a new MacBookPro... maybe you are right.... I bought it two months ago... already need a new Driver update ????

    Thanks ,

    Yomango.
     
  6. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    You can play Blu-ray movies on your Mac under OS X by installing Make MKV and VLC, then follow these instructions.
     
  7. yomango thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #7
    Trying to Hook up LG Blu Ray external Drive .

    Not working .. where is VLC????
     
  8. yomango thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #8
    Where do I get the new driver ?? from Apple or from Nvidia??? I could not find anything for my MBP....2.5 mhz
     
  9. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #9
    On my Mac Pro I had to install AHCI before being able to play Bluray disks in Windows but seeing that you are using an external drive this is not necessary. ATI or NVIDIA drivers can be found on their designated websites. :D

    www.nvidia.com
    www.ati.com
     
  10. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #10
    You must download it. Here's the link VLC PLAYER
     
  11. yomango thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #11
    trying to watch mY blu -Ray on My MBP..

    Thank you for your help.... but which Driver is right for me on the Nvidia web site... I am confuse ..so many of them..any idea ?/ thank you.

    Yomango.:):)
     
  12. yomango thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #12
    I got a new code error ... 0012 what is that ?? so far no luck ..to watch my Blu ray on my MBP....mmmm.....

    Thanks,
    Yomango.:)
     
  13. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #13
    Does your Blu-ray drive have DVD or CD burning abilities?
     
  14. yomango thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #14
    trying to watch my Blu-ray on my MBP.

    Yes it does....why??
     
  15. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #15
    If you've tried this method and it doesn't work, then you likely have a Blu-ray title that is not supported by Make MKV. Having a burner is all that is required of Make MKV for Blu-ray playback using VLC on Macs.
     
  16. yomango thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    New york city
    #16
    do you have skype ??? mY skype ID is yomango35 add me please...maybe you can help me .. I am nto good at computer and I have so many questions to ask you... thank you... Yomango.:)
     

Share This Page