Trying to install Windows 7 on mac pro 2009 w/ RAID and Single drive...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by brock2621, Dec 26, 2009.

1. brock2621 macrumors 6502a

brock2621

So i have Snow Leopard running in a RAID, and just a separate single drive installed for windows 7. Problem is, when i try to go to bootcamp assistant, it tells me that RAIDS aren't supported in bootcamp. I don't want to install it on my raid, just on the other single drive. Does anyone know a workaround or how to do this? Thanks guys!

2. ncc1701d macrumors 6502

I'm no expert - hopefully nanofrog will jump in here at some point and I can't say for W7, only that I did it with Vista in a similar config... however...

You have to load something onto the windows drive called an AHCI first and join the OSX system to it via bootcamp after doing this. I don't think Bootcamp can do this process which would normally be automatic with the set up you have.

3. brock2621 thread starter macrumors 6502a

brock2621

Hmm... i'm not familiar with doing this. I appreciate it very much. I'll try to find a detailed walkthrough online. I'll keep checking back for nano.

Thanks again!

4. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

I don't think you need to use Boot Camp assistant, as the EFI should already have the legacy BIOS support, or if you are using 64 bit W7 (recommended) it supports EFI anyway.

Try putting the W7 DVD into the SuperDrive, and rebooting holding down the option key.

When you've booted into Windows setup, find your new drive, and format and install Windows to that. This should leave the RAID intact.

Once you have the base install, you should be able to hold down the option key and boot into windows, after which you can insert your OS X disk to install all the drivers.

EDIT, format the drive in FAT32 using Disk Utility BEFORE booting using the W7 disk. This ensures that the partition table is GUID rather than MBR

5. gugucom macrumors 68020

gugucom