Trying to Jailbreak 2G currently with JB 1.1.2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by coasterider, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. coasterider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    I am trying to update, rejailbreak, and unlock an iPhone 2G that is currently running 1.1.2. I downloaded redsnow and the current IPSW(1.1.2), but redsnow is unable to recognize the IPSW. Am I missing something or doing something wrong? Is their an easier way to wipe it clean and start over?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    WTF? 1.1.2? That brings back memories:D
    Update thru iTunes to the latest firmware and then use redsnow to jb and unlock.
     
  3. coasterider thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    Yea I know right!? Well I updated it to 3.1.3 and downloaded the latest redsnow and 3.1.2 firmware and I am still getting the same error.
     
  4. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #4
    what error? 1.1.2 talk about sticking with something!
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    You're pointing it to the 3.1.2 right?
    Don't download the latest redsnow but the redsnow version for the iPhone 2G.
     
  6. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #6
    I helped my cousin update his 2g from 1.1.2 to 3.1.3 and all his notes and SMS isn't working IF you restore it. Remember to to setup as new!
     
  7. coasterider thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    Thanks guys! I started clean with this one. I think I just had the wrong version of redsnow. I have yet to put a sim in to see if the unlock worked. But since everything else went smoothly once I got the right version of redsnow..it should be fine. However, is there anything else I need to do to make sure it works on T-Mobile again? All I did was check the unlock box during the onscreen jailbreak process.
     

Share This Page