Trying to jailbreak 3gs. System restore doesn't work with redsn0w.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by wRek, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. wRek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #1
    I've been trying to jailbreak my 3gs using the tutorial posted here:
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4448

    I've downloaded redsn0w and placed it in a folder on my desktop. I then restored my iPhone to firmware 3.0.1. On another tutorial they mentioned that redsn0w will not recognize 3.0.1 when you go to run the program, but it will recognize and work with firmware 3.0. So, I go to download 3.0.

    Every time I download it, it downloads as a .zip file and when unarchived ends up as just a folder, instead of an actual .ipsw file.

    Anyone have any idea why it might do this? Can anyone email me the 3.0 firmware file as a non-zipped file to see if that will work?

    send.erik.mail@gmail.com

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    It's not really a .zip file you're downloading, but an .ipsw. An .ipsw file is really a zip archive with a different extension, so some OSes may recognizing it as a zip file. Do not unzip it, just point redsn0w to the file you downloaded, even if it looks like a .zip. If you're downloading from a different site, try this link to the Apple website.
     
  3. wRek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #3
    Thanks very much for your help! I will try that right now. I knew it had to be something easy and stupid.


    EDIT: Did what you said and it basically worked. When my computer downloaded the .ipsw file it added a .zip extension also. I moved it to the folder, and then deleted the .zip extension and it worked! It's finishing the jailbreak as I post this.

    Thanks again!
     
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    No problem. Strange that it would add the .zip extension; I assume you use Windows?

    Incidentally, the same is true of many other file types out there (that they are really just zip archives masquerading as unique file types). Firefox addons, for instance, are .xpi -- which are actually zip archives. If you ever need to modify one, you can just unzip it using your favorite archiver and you'll find a normal directory with various java applets, images, and configuration files. Make your changes, zip it back up, and change the extension back to .xpi and you can install it. I've done this countless times to fix the maximum version string for old extensions that are still perfectly serviceable in newer versions of Firefox but which won't install.
     
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    It does that in Firefox automatically, I believe. It might be Safari that does that. I don't remember which. :eek:
     

Share This Page