Trying to restore my phone but...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Apollo 13, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. Apollo 13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #1
    I'm trying to restore my jailbroken iphone 4 to factory setting to start over. I'm still running Verizon's 4.2.6 firmware and want to keep it that way, but when I hit restore on itunes it wants to do a "Restore and Update". I don't want to update. Is there a way around this?
     
  2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    you would of needed your 4.2.6 blobs to do this
     
  3. Apollo 13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #3
    how do I get this? Is there a guide for someone in my situation? Hell i'm only doing this because i'm missing disc space and with I plug my phone into itunes it says "other" is taking up 2.5GB of space.
     
  4. sbddude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    #4
    are you currently jailbroken? do you need to jailbreak?

    if not just update.

    If you do, you need to use SHSH blobs to use any firmware older than the current one.
     
  5. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #5
    with the program tiny umbrella, but once apple stops signing the firmware you cant save the blobs with tiny umbrella, you best chance is if your already jailbroken then your blobs might be saved on the cydia server
     
  6. Apollo 13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #6
    yes i'm jailbroken. I just want to use the firmware that's already on my phone.
     
  7. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #7
    ok when you on cydia at the top in green does it say SHSH iOS 4.2.6??
     
  8. Apollo 13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #8
    yes
     
  9. typhone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #9
    you need to make a custom firmware in sn0wbreeze, but first download tinyumbrella and click save shsh to see if they are saved , dont ask what they are, you just need them
     
  10. sbddude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    #10
    you can also use iFaith to extract the SHSH from your phone (even if it's not being signed) and it will generate a custom IPSW too.
     
  11. Apollo 13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #11
    ok saved the shsh and downloading the firmware now so I can make custom firmware.
     
  12. Apollo 13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #12
    thanks for the help guys. Snowbreeze was giving my problems with the firmware I download and even the other one from a different source, so I tried ifaith and it worked great.
     

Share This Page