Trying to skip backing up iPhone 3 when updating to 4.0 software

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by iloveiphone7, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. iloveiphone7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #1
    I still have my iphone 3 and wanted to update the software to 4.0. I do not have enough room to back up all of my files on my computer. How do I skip the back up and just update the software. Please help!
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Tap the little x next to the progress bar for the backup and it'll skip to the next part of the process.
     
  3. DustinDev47 macrumors 6502

    DustinDev47

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    Get rid of some things, put them on a flash drive, burn to disc. Whatever


    Then proceed normally, then delete the backup and put your files back.
     
  4. iloveiphone7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #4
    There is no little x next to the progress bar. It only let's me press "stop" for backing up iphone.

    I think I'm just going to have to bring home my laptop from work and back it up on there. I am using my fiance's laptop and I don't want to delete any of his files.

    Also, I am not 100% sure what you mean by a progress bar. I'm sorry I am new to all of this.
     
  5. DustinDev47 macrumors 6502

    DustinDev47

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    Progress bar is an animated bar that shows you the progress of a task.
     
  6. iloveiphone7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #6
    The only bar that is showing up is the bar that says it's backing up and there's no little x on it. There's only a button that says "stop."

    ----------

    When it gets to that backing up iphone step, the only button I can press is the stop button.
     
  7. DustinDev47 macrumors 6502

    DustinDev47

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    Try clicking stop.
     
  8. iloveiphone7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #8
    I wonder if I have a different version of iTunes than you do.

    ----------

    I did click stop and it doesn't do anything. It stops the whole entire process.
     
  9. DustinDev47 macrumors 6502

    DustinDev47

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    You can try updating iTunes.
     
  10. iloveiphone7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
  11. DustinDev47 macrumors 6502

    DustinDev47

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11
    Apple.com/itunes


    Download.
     
  12. iloveiphone7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #12
    Thank you!

    ----------

    I tried hitting stop repeatedly when it tried to back up and it's saying reloading data. I think it might actually be working to update to 4.2.1!

    ----------

    One last question, if my iphone was jailbroken (not unlocked) can I easily do the upgrade to 4.2.1? What do I have to do to upgrade to 4.2.1 for a jailbroken iPhone 3?
     
  13. iloveiphone7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #13
    I got it working. Had to do a restore. Enjoying the new update!
     

Share This Page