Trying to unlock- frustrated.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by njdevil, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. njdevil macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #1
    I've got 2 iPhone 3G's, both 4.2.1 and baseband 05.15.04. One of them I've had for a few years and has been jailbroken and unlocked for a while, I restored it to re-jailbreak it (It was getting slow and crashing all the time) and now I can't get it to unlock again. Ultrasn0w won't finish, it just gets to a certain point and hangs. I've restored and re-jailbroken with pwnagetool multiple times, the result is the same. The other phone hasn't been jailbroken before.

    I'm trying to get either of them to work so I can put any sim in it. I don't know if at some point I screwed up the one iPhone irreparably while jailbreaking it wrong at some point, so I'm reluctant to try to jailbreak the other before I know for certain what I'm doing wrong.

    So, has anyone ever had a problem like this before with Ultrasn0w? Any advice or other guides to unlock a 4.2.1/05.15.04 iPhone 3G? I'm on a mac but if there's a method of jailbreaking and unlocking that requires a PC that'd be ok too.

    Any help would be very, very much appreciated.
     
  2. Mac.World macrumors 68000

    Mac.World

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    In front of uranus
    #2
    Unless you have an SHSH blob saved for ios4.3.3 or lower, you are SOL. IPhone 3G can not load iOS 5.
     
  3. biohead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    West Drayton, UK
    #3
    iPhone 3G's highest iOS version is 4.2.1.

    I don't think that baseband (05.14.04) can be unlocked. You may have to update to the iPad baseband and lose GPS to get an unlock working.
     
  4. Minhimalism macrumors 65816

    Minhimalism

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Correct, this is the only way I believe. Just deal with the loss of functionality, having a usable phone is more important anyways :eek:
     
  5. Mac.World macrumors 68000

    Mac.World

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    In front of uranus
    #5
    Ahh, good to know. I thought it went up to 4.3.3.
     
  6. njdevil thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #6
    That's unfortunate... I didn't know updating to iPad baseband removed GPS. I tried this earlier with redsn0w but it would quit while "fetching iPad firmware" or something along those lines- both the windows 7 version and the OSX version gave me the same problem. Is there another option aside from redsn0w to get to iPad firmware?


    Also, what's Whited00r like? Could that be of use to me? I haven't heard anyone talk about it, just heard of it myself.
     
  7. Ksizzle9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Never have I heard of whited00r, please do tell. I'm literally not being a dick, just interested.
     
  8. njdevil thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #8
    Heard about it here- looks interesting, but I've spent so much time researching and messing about with iPhones, I can't believe I've never heard of it before: http://lifehacker.com/5817477/how-can-i-breath-new-life-into-my-old-iphone
     
  9. ylerT macrumors regular

    ylerT

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #9
    I remember hearing of something similar a long time ago but the name whited00r doesn't ring a bell. That could definitely be the thing I'm thinking about but it has been a while.

    I've never tried it and there doesn't seem to be much information about it. I have a couple 3G's laying around that haven't sold yet so I'm going to give it a shot. I'll post if I get it running (still have 30 minutes download time left though :confused:).
     
  10. kalirob99 macrumors 68000

    kalirob99

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Been using Whited00r since its initial release. Well, worth using on older devices. Just be prepared for a few bugs as its still in beta, adding new features with the latest release of version 5. Only had an issue with folders so far, everything else is great.
     
  11. njdevil thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #11
    Have you used the Unlocker version? Does it work?
     
  12. n0tme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #12
    it works

    Beside of my IP4 I own an old 3G which I almost didn't use anymore because it went to be sooo slow.

    The phone was unlocked on Ultrasn0w and I lost my GPS.

    I just downloaded and installed the unlocker version.

    It works like a charm, has many more apps (some from ios5) and the unlock works flawless. The GPS looks like it is working correct now, yippee.

    I also got tethering by USB and bluetooth which was blocked before by my provider.:p

    Didn't try all till now because it's late here but thanks for coming up with the whited00r, I'll use the IP3G now more frequently.:)
     
  13. njdevil thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #13

    Glad you had success, sadly I didn't though, the unlocker version failed to unlock my phone. What baseband is your 3G if you don't mind checking for me?
     
  14. njdevil thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
  15. n0tme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #15
    Sure, it's 6.15.00, the ipad baseband.
     
  16. ylerT macrumors regular

    ylerT

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #16
    Ok, I got it installed and running. So far it seems to run pretty well. I'm using the "unlocked" version on an 8gb iPhone 3G.

    I had some issues when I first installed it. It wasn't picking up the home screen wallpaper and kinda running slow. After I refreshed Cydia and restarted, everything worked beautifully. It picked up T-Mobile & AT&T signals with no issue. I took screenshots with both services to show it working. I did NOT have to download anything extra from Cydia or do any other steps.

    I've attached some screenshots to show what everything looks like. Everything shown on the screenshots is pre-installed. I did not add anything.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. njdevil thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #17
    So neither of you have working GPS, correct? Also, how did you update to the iPad baseband?
     
  18. n0tme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #18
    The ipad baseband comes with the last oficial ios for 3G.

    I did not have GPS before but with whited00r it seems to work well on maps, although I didn't try WAZE till now.

    Before my position was out of range for more than 8 km as it was token by wifi positions, now it's ok to about 100 m.

    Maybe someone else can give a better feedback as I'm living in South America.

    One add: I'm missing the cel data disable icon, I don't have a data plan on that phone but have data flow, I can browse the net etc.

    That might draw down my voice plan, have to see what happens.
     
  19. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #19
    Cell phone tower triangulation will work for Maps.app
    But any true GPS app will fail.
     
  20. b0bab0i macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #20
    You use redsn0w to install iPad BB
     
  21. n0tme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #21
    I tried it now with waze, it doesn't work:( so no GPS repair.

    I do see some advantages with this iOS but there are some negatives also.

    Many apps don't sync with itunes as they require a newer iOS.

    Anyhow it's very fast and I'll keep it like it is now cause that phone is just a second one.

    @B, sorry, my mistake, yup you need redsnow to install the baseband.
     

Share This Page