Trying to use 27' Mid 2010 Imac as secondary diplay

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BooShay, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. BooShay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #1
    Hi there i recently went to the Apple store and told one fo the employees that i was running Logic Pro on my Mid 2011 MBP and wanted to use my imac as a second display to improve workflow. He told me that i needed a thunderbolt to thunderbolt cable and said it should automatically detect it. Well here i am and its not detecting it. Command F2 also doesnt work, any help would be appreciated
     
  2. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #2
    With the 2010 iMac I believe you need a Mini-Displayport to Mini-Displayport cable, not a Thunderbolt cable.
     
  3. BooShay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #3
    Would that still work on a 2011 MBP? Since it only has thunderbolt and firewire?
     
  4. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #4
    The Thunderbolt port on your Macbook Pro is backwards compatible with Mini-Displayport cables and adapters.
     
  5. BooShay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #5
    But putting the thunderbolt in the mini-display for the imac isnt?
     
  6. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #6
    I may be wrong but I don't think that Thunderbolt cables work as Displayport cables. Your 2010 iMac only accepts Displayport input, not Thunderbolt:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3924

    Something like this should do the trick: http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10246&cs_id=1024602&p_id=5991&seq=1&format=2
     
  7. BooShay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #7

Share This Page