tuner app

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by rtphokie, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. rtphokie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    I looked through the reviews for tuner and for iRadio and went ahead about bought tuner based on the glowing reviews there. It's a nice app for $5.

    I'm a little disappointed that I cant get Live365 stations to play through tuner. Tuner's directory and search function seems to be based on Shoutcast.

    Anyone been able to get Live365 stations to play via tuner, iRadio, Safari, etc.?
     
  2. joe194444 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    i have

    I have been able to but only on wifi for some reason. the one i can use is http://WWW.LIVE365.COM/PLAY/WAMU3

    Try that one and let me know, and if any one else knows why i always get can't recognize file format only when im on edge let me know. The stream is only 32 kbs so i know it should work on edge.
     
  3. rtphokie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #3
    Can you expand on that URL a bit? Do you tack the member name parameter o n the end or exactly how does it work?
     
  4. joe194444 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #4
    Nope, in the search feature, i just type that url. However that is a public stream but it is done by live 365.
     
  5. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #5
    I bough this app just now thinking I could listen to just about any radio station that I want.

    There are a few radio stations in my area that are clear channel and they have this URL for their online player:

    http://www.kbpi.com/cc-common/ondemand/player.html?world=st

    I type that in and I get some error. Can anyone see what I am doing wrong or can Tuner simply not play these stations?
     
  6. joe194444 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #6
    playlist types

    The tuner app uses streaming data files which need to call upon the host content. A radio station that uses an application is different than just a regular stream. if you can find the direct stream link like where it actually comes from most of the time tuner will work.
    there are 4 types of stream format which the tuner app uses, those can be found in the app store in the description of tuner. Refer to my blog at http://windowsiphone3gpwn.blogspot.com/ for more info on what the iphone and what it can really do.
     
  7. nish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #7
    will this stream play through the app?

    mms://a350.l4761148349.c47611.g.lm.akamaistream.net/D/350/47611/v0001/reflector:48349

    thanks in advance.
     
  8. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    The app just got an update today and supports more feeds.
     
  9. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #9
    The search in Tuner is terrible since they had to drop the Shoutcast support which is a shame. It's far less effective now than it was originally.
     
  10. det2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #10
    sports?

    Are there any sports stations in Tuner?? Anything where they broadcast live games? Thanks.
     
  11. bigrobb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #11
    espnradio is on there
     
  12. rtphokie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #12

    wow! this app is getting worse with every upgrade. I'll know to wait before instlalling the next upgrade.
     
  13. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #13
    Howcome I can't get some of my favourite radio stations on here? I have the online URL (http://www.q92fm.com/stream/) - I enter it and it doesn't work. What gives?
     
  14. Avicdar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    calculating hourly bandwidth use

    Its been a while since I have had to deal with this sort of thing, but I am curious about how much data an app like tuner burns up in an hours use.

    My math is for a 24 kbps stream:

    (24 * 60) * 60 = 86,400 kb, which translates into 10.8 MB.

    Does that sound about right?

    Just want to know how much 3g bandwidth I am burning up when I use this on the road.
     
  15. bigrobb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #15
    is there any way to use orb to listen to radio stations that use the streamaudio I havent been able to get it to work
     
  16. bigrobb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Tennessee
  17. Wolf103FM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    #17
    anyone notice any problems playing an AAC+ stream after updating to 2.1?
    my AAC+ stream for my station will play, but after a few seconds will start stuttering, and eventually stop.
     
  18. ieko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #18
    Yup, and it really makes me sad because it's my favorite application and without AAC+ support there's no way for me to get low bandwidth, yet high quality audio streams to my iPhone. I sent a message to nullriver about it through their website but have yet to get a reply back. I really hope the fix it soon!

    Post in the 2.1 breaking apps thread here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=561880

    It seems like a lot of audio related things have broken with this update.
     
  19. ieko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #19
    Tuner 1.41 is out, still stutters with AAC+ streams but it fixed the volume slider bug.

    I've tried contacting nullriver about the AAC+ stream issue several times but they don't seem to respond, does anyone know of a better way to get a hold of these guys? This is my favorite app but it's useless when AAC+ streams don't work :(
     
  20. Wolf103FM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    #20
    As of updating to 2.2 this morning, the first thing I tried was playing my AAC+ stream in Tuner, and it once again works perfectly!
     
  21. ieko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #21
    Yeah I noticed that too, but when I started to use FStream I realized that Tuner doesn't decode AAC+ properly. All you need to do is compare a 24kbps stream and you'll hear the difference. It's nice to know it works though if for some reason you need to use it.
     

Share This Page