Turbo mode for i5/i7?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jsnuff1, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. jsnuff1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Is there any way to tell when the new processors are in turbo mode and shutting a core down and increasing clock frequency?

    Would be cool if there was a way to force this and see performance differences...
     
  2. jsnuff1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
  3. jawa12083 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPod Touch 2G 8GB: Opera/9.80 (iPhone; Opera Mini/5.0.0176/802; U; en) Presto/2.4.15)

    I dont know about forcing it into turbo, but i know that you can tell if its on or not using software...
     
  4. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    For Mac? I'm aware of PC software that will do this but none for Mac.
     
  5. jsnuff1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    What software is this? Im really curious how this turbo boost works and would like to see it in action.

    Im using iStat to monitor the cores, and I never see any of the cores shutdown.
     
  6. ano0oj macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #6
    turboboost is automatic....all I know is that processors go up .5-.6Ghz more for tasks that require a lot of cpu power
     
  7. JoshGlzBrk macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #7
    This works on Windows only and only when running bootcamp.

    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=18353


    It's the Intel Turbo Boost Monitor widget that clings to your windows 7 desktop.


    [​IMG]


    The i7-620M has three basic tiers for turbo boost.


    Both cores have a base clock of 2.66ghz, both cores can turbo up to 3.06ghz, and one core by itself can turbo up to 3.33ghz.
     
  8. Quetsche macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #8
    Hi.
    On my old quad G5 PPC, i have a pref pane inside
    Macintosh HD1/Developer/Extras/PreferencePanes/

    that is named "Processor.prefPane"

    It allows me to manually shut down cores. I'm not sure if they still have that with intel macs, but it's worth a look.
     
  9. jsnuff1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #9
    awesome thanks! Hope they make a mac version of this.
     
  10. FieryFurnace macrumors 6502

    FieryFurnace

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #10
    That's a nice little program, thanks! :)
     
  11. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #11
    Ah

    Marcel Bresink's "Temperature Monitor" has this display in the program under the window menu in system information:

    [​IMG]

    That is while running BOINC / Seti at Home with 8 workunits crunching at once.
     
  12. phenozine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #12
    I would like to know this also. I would like an app or something that will give me more info on my CPU and Mem usage / speeds. Something that will indicate if Turbo is being used.
     

Share This Page