Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

MP All Models Turn a "new" Sapphire RX580 PULSE into the "Mac Edition" card

crjackson2134

macrumors 601
Mar 6, 2013
4,742
1,899
Charlotte, NC
Flip the switch in the other direction and see if that works better for you.

Mine is on DVI and I have no trouble switching between Mojave & Windows 10. Strange issue...
 

h9826790

macrumors G5
Original poster
Apr 3, 2014
14,505
7,034
Hong Kong
I hope I'm not derailing the thread too much, but I'm having some weird issue with my Pulse RX580 8GB. I was lucky enough that its part number was close enough to the official "blessed" version that I didn't have to modify anything, it's assigned the correct framebuffer out of the box. Great. But when booting into Windows 10 I get no display output at all until I remove and reinsert the Displayport cable. Same with DVI. HDMI appears to work fine however, so it's not really a huge issue. Has anyone come across this before?

I thought it might have been just an issue with the individual card I had since I bought it used and it had been used for mining cryptocurrency, so I bought another one new on Amazon and it has the same exact issue. Luckily the part number is still good so it still works great in Mojave with no modifications needed.

Another interesting thing about this second card is that it has a switch on the PCB to change from "Gaming Mode" to "Compute Mode". I can't find any reference to this anywhere, I'm guessing it's a fairly new revision? Is it effectively just switching between two different BIOS? I only installed the card last night and haven't had much time to mess with it beyond making sure it actually works.

That's the V2 card. Has dual ROM.

Sorry, can't help about your issue. My RX580 works really well in both MacOS and Windows with DP 1.2+ connection.

Is your RX580 installed in slot 1?

Did you try another monitor or cable?
 

developstopfix

macrumors newbie
Sep 26, 2018
10
1
New York, NY
Flip the switch in the other direction and see if that works better for you.

Mine is on DVI and I have no trouble switching between Mojave & Windows 10. Strange issue...

I had the same issue with my first card that did not have the switch so I assumed it wouldn't make any difference, and I'd rather not mess with it if I don't have to.

That's the V2 card. Has dual ROM.

Sorry, can't help about your issue. My RX580 works really well in both MacOS and Windows with DP 1.2+ connection.

Is your RX580 installed in slot 1?

Did you try another monitor or cable?

Yes, card is in slot 1. I don't have another DP cable or another monitor to test with, but as long as HDMI is working fine then it's not an issue now. In every other way the card performs as expected.
 
  • Like
Reactions: h9826790

ria1980

macrumors newbie
Feb 16, 2014
7
2
Hello everyone!
I bought Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX580 8G DDR5 DUAL HDMI/DVI/DUAL DP OC W/BP (UEFI) card to replace my old Radeon HD5870 Mac edition in my Mac Pro 5.1. It has one 8 pin power socket. I made a 2x6 pin to 8 pin power cable by myself for try it at the moment. So card works in 10.13.6, it looks like "Radeon RX 580" in system setup, but it shows PCI-E speed only 2.5 Gt, and no one of 2 Display Ports work, only DVI and HDMI ports, and is a problem for my 3-monitors configuration... I tried to connect to card's DP a native DP monitor, or DVI monitor by DP to DVI dual link adapter (with additional usb power), no reaction at all. Now I replace new RX 580 with my old card, so I can not say part number from system, new card has PN 299-1E387-000SA label on it. What do you think, is it card broken, or that may be bios/framebuffer problem? Would bios flashing solve that PCI speed and DP working problems, or I have to try something else? Thank you!
 
Last edited:

fatespawn

macrumors regular
Feb 22, 2009
189
90
Chicagoish
it shows PCI-E speed only 2.5 Gt, and no one of 2 Display Ports work, only DVI and HDMI ports, and is a problem for my 3-monitors configuration

I think the Link Speed is only solved in the 138.0.0.0 or 140.0.0.0 BootRom. Since you're still on 10.13.6 you'll only get 2.5GT/s. That's what I'm getting on the identical card you have.

Try the card again, but try a different DP cable. When I first tried my card, I wasn't getting ANY video from either HDMI or DP. I think it was the connections. The base of the cables was getting stuck on the frame of the MacPro. I couple of attempts and everything worked out. One thing I had to do it turn off LCD Font Smoothing in System Preferences>General. I was getting a weird "ghosting" around text.
 

ria1980

macrumors newbie
Feb 16, 2014
7
2
I think the Link Speed is only solved in the 138.0.0.0 or 140.0.0.0 BootRom. Since you're still on 10.13.6 you'll only get 2.5GT/s. That's what I'm getting on the identical card you have.

Thank you. But, did you try flash another bios to your card? Maybr it will help to fix that issue with PCI speed in High Sierra

Try the card again, but try a different DP cable. When I first tried my card, I wasn't getting ANY video from either HDMI or DP. I think it was the connections.

Tried at least 2 cables, and both of them are working on old card at the moment. I think, it may be a problem with card initialising by system or it's broken...
 

Kubat

macrumors member
Jan 10, 2006
37
9
Poland
I have RX580 Nitro+ with part number 113-1E3660U-O51. I have problems with Mojave. Can I install bios mod with guide page 1?


I have also Nitro + it seems to work fine in Mojave , what tool did you use to test hardware decoding?
 

ria1980

macrumors newbie
Feb 16, 2014
7
2
Screen Shot 2018-10-26 at 13.26.31.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-26 at 13.26.10.png


Boot ROM Version: MP51.0089.B00

I updated Boot Rom to the last one from 10.13.6 - no changes, no one of 2 DP's work... Does it make sense to reinstall the system to the blank SSD?
 

OneyedK

macrumors member
Aug 25, 2018
49
26
Mechelen, Belgium
I updated Boot Rom to the last one from 10.13.6 - no changes, no one of 2 DP's work... Does it make sense to reinstall the system to the blank SSD?
I would give a clean 10.13.6 a try.

/edit: I suspect a driver issue, not so much a framebuffer issue.
But it could be that it needs the Orinoco framebuffer to fire up de DP ports properly.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: h9826790

OneyedK

macrumors member
Aug 25, 2018
49
26
Mechelen, Belgium
On Windows 10 works perfectly, on Mojave only works with igpu because RX 580 Nitro+ not supported natively.

I am very frustated with this.
You can correct the PN, following the guide in the first post of this topic. MacOS doesn't "see" a difference between a PULSE and a NITRO+. Just RX580 and PN.
 

apriliars3

macrumors member
Jul 18, 2016
55
13
Madrid
You can correct the PN, following the guide in the first post of this topic. MacOS doesn't "see" a difference between a PULSE and a NITRO+. Just RX580 and PN.

I haven’t Mac Pro, I have Xeon E5 2680v2. I read I need change bios between W10 for games and macOS if I flash bios.
 

zoe934

macrumors newbie
Nov 4, 2018
2
0
my RX580 is PN 299-1E388-400SA
its always reboot on 10.13.6 and 10.14.1
Should I modify the BIOS?
 

h9826790

macrumors G5
Original poster
Apr 3, 2014
14,505
7,034
Hong Kong
my RX580 is PN 299-1E388-400SA
its always reboot on 10.13.6 and 10.14.1
Should I modify the BIOS?

How you power the card?

And this auto reboot issue only happened with the RX580?

Did you try clean MacOS install?

Tried reseat the card yet?

Tried another slot?
 

zoe934

macrumors newbie
Nov 4, 2018
2
0
How you power the card?

And this auto reboot issue only happened with the RX580?

Did you try clean MacOS install?

Tried reseat the card yet?

Tried another slot?

Sorry, my bad. I thought this is Hackintosh Forum.
 

G10

macrumors newbie
Oct 24, 2018
14
1
HI Everyone -
The Sapphire 1165-05-20G Radeon Plus RX580 8 Gb is currently at the lowest 239.99 recorded on Amazon, should I buy it or should I wait for Black Friday/Cyber Monday sale.
 

BillyBobBongo

macrumors 68030
Jun 21, 2007
2,520
1,100
On The Interweb Thingy!
The RX 590 is expected to be released on November 15th. I would wait and see if that pushes the price down.

Might also be worth waiting to see if the RX 590 works in a Mac Pro and what the cost/performance is compared to the RX 580.
 

G10

macrumors newbie
Oct 24, 2018
14
1
The RX 590 is expected to be released on November 15th. I would wait and see if that pushes the price down.

Might also be worth waiting to see if the RX 590 works in a Mac Pro and what the cost/performance is compared to the RX 580.

Wow, i had no idea, thanks very much. i'll wait
 

G10

macrumors newbie
Oct 24, 2018
14
1
The RX590 is out today, Can someone point out to what should I be looking for ?.
 

xayide

macrumors newbie
Dec 26, 2018
1
0
Tried modding my RX580 Nitro+ 4GB, but I cannot flash it to the card. It says checksum error something. Could this be due to 4GB memory on the card?

Attached original non-modded below.
 

Attachments

  • RX580_orignal_switchpos1.rom.zip
    110 KB · Views: 73
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.