Turn by turn navigation

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by izdor, Sep 25, 2012.

1. izdor macrumors newbie

Hey! Among the critisism these days towards apple maps app, I found a good one: Turn by turn navigation does NOT reuquire data network or internet while driving! It only needs it for calulating and making the route plan.

Of course internet data is needed in case of re-routing

I noticed that while navigating, the wheel besides 3g (or LTE) is spinning, so I didnt want to consume too much data, so I turned the data and 3G off in the settings. And still worked!

Im a newbie so maybe many of you know this, but if find it pretty cool, especially for the ones that, like me, do not have unlimited data plan.

Cheers!

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

I did not know that and the fact that it doesn't require the data is pretty damn awesome.

3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

4. pdqgp macrumors 68020

pdqgp

Not sure I follow. It's a cloud based system and they switched to vector based graphics to lighten the load needed when downloading them. I doubt the entire maps database is on your phone. TomTom downloads but is huge. iMaps would be massive if that was the case.

That said, it likely is still pulling data both graphics and routing down via your signal.

5. JoeBlow74 macrumors regular

Apple Maps does use cell network. The only way it would not use cell network is if Apple loads all map data locally on your phone like Garmin does. The Garmin app loads all map data onto my phone and can calculate routs without any sort of cell connection.

6. izdor thread starter macrumors newbie

Yeah but apparently it downloads what it needs for the route plan and then drives you around with the GPS. I dont find another explenation. Go ahead and try it: make it load a route and when its directing you, go to settings and turn off celullar data. It will still work! At least for me...

7. JoeBlow74 macrumors regular