Turn iMac into TV?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by poiihy, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. poiihy, Jan 3, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2015

    poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #1
    How would I go about turning my iMac into a TV? I have a comcast cable box; it is the most basic one (called a "Digital Transport Adapter") and it only has RF video out (the coaxial cable one). Too bad it doesn't have any HDMI or composite video at least :mad: . Well i'd probably need some sort of tuner to channel 3 or 4 coming from the box. And it would probably use some software in OS X.
    Now what about the remote? Can I make the remote work with the iMac's IR receiver, and change volume and stuff? Power button could put iMac to sleep.
    And this would be great as a DVR. How would that work?
    This is an Early 2009 iMac. It has no target display mode :(
     
  2. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #2
    you would need a device like the elgato eye tv.
     
  3. poiihy, Jan 4, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2015

    poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #3
    So basically I need a tv tuner stick with a remote. Then program the comcast remote to work with the stick. Now how does the stick work? Does the stick use software which shows the video in a window? What would the power button do? Also the stick would be behind the machine so to get IR signals to it I would need a fibre-optic cable to it. I'd rather use the built-in IR sensor in the iMac but that seems out of the question.

    Man it really sucks that the comcast box only has RF video out. They put an RF video tuner in their box so if you want to connect it to a monitor you need to get an expensive tuner to de-modulate the rf video! So inefficient.

    The signal from the box is analog so i'd need an analog stick.

    ----------

    What do you call the little coaxial cable connector for analog RF video? The one which you connect your antenna to your TV?
     
  4. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #4
    If you put the tuner stick on a USB "extension cable", you can mount it wherever you wish. There is also a clever little clip-on USB extender designed for the iMac which plugs into a rear USB port and remotes it to the front of the iMac.

    The cable connector is simply a RG-59 Coaxial crimp-on connector.
     
  5. jtaylorau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
  6. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #6
    I'm not buying any expensive thing if all I want is to tune to channel 3 in analog.
     
  7. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #7
    Boohoo... you've been told what you need..
     
  8. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    The hardware for what you are wanting to do costs money and if you don't want to pay for the hardware then you won't be tuning to channel in analog then.
     
  9. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #9
    I know what I need and I can get a much simpler and cheaper device than what you suggest. The elgato tv is overkill.
     
  10. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #10
    I don't want to pay lots of money for a premium device with fancy software and many features when I only have one channel. I just want a cheap and simple device.
     
  11. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11
    Then buy Windows for a couple hundred dollars and install it. Then you will have your choice of cheap and simple devices. Seems kind of counter productive though if you ask me. I guess in the end though you would get the kind of device that you are looking for, albeit at the cost of running Mac OS X.
     
  12. pmcdn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #12
    Just felt a slingbox HD. I have one and it looks great on my imac.
     
  13. dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #13
    I don't understand. If you know what you need and you can get it, then what is your question? Just go get it. Or what are we missing?
     

Share This Page