turn off IOS app relaunch with iPhone restart?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by ohjohnsmall, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. ohjohnsmall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm hoping this will be simple. I like to restart my iphone periodically, just to close everything and start with that minty fresh rebooted feeling. Updated to the latest IOS and now it relaunches everything that was open.
    I managed to defeat this on my computer, but not on my iphone. How do I prevent this? The whole reason I restart is to shut everything off.

    It's not important to me whether this is necessary or not, I just like it this way.

    Thanks!

    John
     
  2. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #2
    They're not actually running. They save the state and close.
     
  3. ohjohnsmall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #3
    I understand that they're in a saved state and not running. I prefer, when I do a full restart of my phone, that they go back to whatever the non-saved state is called. So I don't have Everything in that line of apps at the bottom. I know, I know, I can pretty quickly close them all, but I like the idea of a clean restart every so often, and it feels like apple products and operating systems should allow us to choose for that.
     
  4. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    I'm fairly certain that it's not really that those apps are in a saved state or something like that, but the list that you would see there, after a restart, is really just a list of most recent apps that were used, nothing really more than that.
     
  5. adnbek macrumors 65816

    adnbek

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #5
    At reboot, it's nothing more than a list of recently used apps. The apps are completely closed, hence why your RAM usage drops dramatically after a reboot, which wouldn't be the case if they were reinitialized and suspended. The list still remembers what you had used recently but the apps themselves are NOT reloaded until you actually open them again.
     
  6. PNutts, Feb 6, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2013

    PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #6
    OP: I do the same thing. Double tap the home button to show the recently used app list. Tap and hold one of them until they have the X on them and jiggle. Delete them one by one until they are gone. I do this before I turn the phone off and on.

    Edit: I was never taught how to write or use English properly (obviously). But after I read back my instructions I should clarify that the icons jiggle. I wasn't telling you to jiggle. :D
     
  7. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Why restart? Just clear the apps from the multitasking bar.
     
  8. cmeisenzahl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #8
    I concur, they're not really running, I believe it's no more than an MRU list at that point.
     
  9. Nothlit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #9
    The multitasking switcher does not indicate whether the apps are running or even consuming resources. It is really nothing more than a "most recently used apps" list. If you have rebooted your phone, those apps are not consuming any resources. Even if you haven't rebooted your phone, the vast majority of those apps are not consuming any resources. Very few apps are allowed to consume background resources, and they are very tightly monitored by iOS and killed if necessary. Manually killing apps or rebooting your phone should be reserved for very unique/special cases (bugs) -- not routine behavior. But for some reason a lot of people just can't get their heads around that! :)
     
  10. dtbratt macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Grimsby, ON
    #10
    Clear your apps in the multitasking bar. Turn the iphone off then on. Then do a hard reset by holding your Home/Power button together.

    I know this does nothing, but I do it once in a while. :D
     
  11. TheRainKing macrumors 6502a

    TheRainKing

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #11
    Never knew the apps weren't actually running when they appear on the app switcher thing after a restart. I would still rather they still weren't on there. Some of us like things to be neat and tidy!
     

Share This Page