Turn off just internet?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by dynalmadman, Nov 13, 2015.

  1. dynalmadman macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    Vegas, baby!
    #1
    Searched Google, searched here, no love.

    Connected via WiFi, total of 2 macbook pros, 2 iPads and 2 iPhones.

    My Macbook Pro hosts our Plex server for now. When I am done surfing for the day, I want to turn off this machine's access to the internet, while still leaving WiFi active to serve my Plex clients.

    I can't figure out how to do it. (Is this gonna be a face palm on my part? I know is it something so obvious that I missed it.)

    Thank you
    Michael
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    You could always just remove your DNS settings when you want to block the Internet.
     
  3. dynalmadman, Nov 13, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2015

    dynalmadman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    Vegas, baby!
    #3
    Must be populated by the NIC, as I cannot remove them. I can add, but cannot remove the ones filled in by the network.

    Thanks
    Michael
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    As long as you leave the gateway IP in there, your LAN will remain accessible.
     
  5. dynalmadman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    Vegas, baby!
    #5
    You are correct. I went to full manual settings, giving myself a static IP and I was able to remove and replace the DNS at will.

    Not terribly elegant, but seems to work. Thank you very much!
    Michael
     
  6. Trona macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    Set up two locations under network preferences, one for the day time and one for the night. Switching doesn't require entering any settings.
     
  7. dynalmadman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    Vegas, baby!
    #7
    Sounds good. I will give this a shot later.

    Thank you
    Michael
     
  8. dynalmadman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    Vegas, baby!
    #8
    The 2 locations seems to work fine, but wreaks havoc with Plex server. Can't figure out why the server has to be able to access Internet before local clients can access content. I get why it's needed if my client is outside my LAN, but not inside.

    More research....

    Thanks for the help her
    Michael
     
  9. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
  10. hobowankenobi, Nov 16, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2015

    hobowankenobi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    on the land line mr. smith.
    #10
    The DNS settings (along with all network settings) come from your router typically, if using a dynamic IP address (DHCP).

    Set up the static/manual (as mentioned above), once with DNS settings for internet access, then make a second static/manual location that is identical (same IP), but without DNS settings for no internet access.

    Name them accordingly.

    Done.

    Bonus: by using the same static IP address, no matter which location is selected, your local file sharing will always be the same.
     
  11. satcomer, Nov 17, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015

    satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #11
    You might want to get the Synology RT1900ac. It has parent settings built in.

    Here is review of it:

     

Share This Page