Turn Off LCD and Use External Display?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jauhari, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. jauhari macrumors regular

    jauhari

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #1
    I was successfully connected my MBP with External Display Philips 107T4, my question is How to Totally Turn of my LCD monitor so I can lid my MBP and use external monitor only.

    recently I used this tips. Just restart my MBP and close the MBP, but I really thanks you, if any one have some another tips to do this without restart my MBP. (some times I have a lot off open document and I don't want to re open each document again)

    Please Help.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I just close my lid when and wake my Mac using the keyboard.
     
  3. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #3
    This question seems to come up a lot. Use the "Search Forums" feature to find the answer.

    (not being a jackass here, I don't know off hand but have seen many threads on this in the past)
     
  4. SheriffParker macrumors 6502a

    SheriffParker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    The land of love
    #4
    Just shut the lid while the external is connected.
     
  5. jauhari thread starter macrumors regular

    jauhari

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #5
    How to shut the lid? when I lid my MBP, my Mac OSX become SLEEP.
    Or I must open MBP first, then LID the MBP and re open again and LID again?
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    You're going to need to use an external input device to awaken the Mac from sleep.
     
  7. SheriffParker macrumors 6502a

    SheriffParker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    The land of love
    #7
    Just shut the lid like any other person.

    You'll have to wake it with an external keyboard or mouse of course... but you knew that. How can you use a computer in closed lid mode without an external mouse & keyboard?
     
  8. jauhari thread starter macrumors regular

    jauhari

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #8
    The Problem is, My External is Windows Based Keyboard. So, how to do that?
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    It's called telekinesis.

    My Apple keyboard works in Windows.

    You're not going to have a problem there.
     
  10. SheriffParker macrumors 6502a

    SheriffParker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    The land of love
    #10
    try pressing any button.
     
  11. SheriffParker macrumors 6502a

    SheriffParker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    The land of love
    #11
    I saw that little edit trick Eidorian. You're not as fast as you think I think you are. ;)
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    It's valid.

    I could just double post. Want me to do that?
     
  13. menthol moose macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #13
    The way I've done it, technically it's not closed-lid, but the display still goes to sleep, if you want to save power. You close the laptop lid, and then use the remote, if you've got one, to wake the computer up again. It's best if you pair it with the computer first. Then, now that it's awake again, you open up the lid and use the keyboard and trackpad, and the display stays asleep until you unplug the display from the laptop.

    Or, as Eidorian said, telekinesis also works.
     
  14. timurp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #14
    Missing Display Management functionality in Mac OS X

    I believe we have this discussion only because the administrative interface for management of the display is deficient in Mac OS X. Just adding a button in Display Preferences allowing to turn off the LCD display in the presence of the working external display would have been a much simpler and convenient option.
     
  15. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #15
    The current solution is plenty robust. People just refuse to read the manual. The solution you posted would be useful if the internal display powered up if you open the display 'while' it was started in 'clamshell' mode, but as menthol moose pointed out, the display will still stay off if the shell is opened.

    The current setup just requires a deliberate action in order to switch between modes. If you want to expand the desktop, you plug in the monitor. If you want to run in 'clamshell' mode, you wake the machine with the lid closed.
     
  16. noespam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #16
    Uhh fail! If you're laptop goes to sleep and you wake it with the lid open, then the laptop display will turn on again. Several minutes of inactivity and you have to go through this hassle again. You should NOT keep it in clamshell mode for extended periods due to risk of overheating. I know, it cost me $500 to replace the logic board.

    Mactards really need to stop defending blindly and saying things like 'plenty robust'. Simple option in settings is needed.
     
  17. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #17
    Few models aren't meant to be used in clamshell mode. Most are supported this way.
     
  18. copykris Suspended

    copykris

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Location:
    home
    #18
    watch him ask where the any button is next :/
     
  19. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #19
    Damn, trolling in a 9 month old thread. Very nice. I'm going to carry on as if you don't know what you're talking about wrt running a machine in clamshell mode. If you were dumb enough to let Apple talk you into replacing your logic board because of "heat damage" than you should've pointed out the part in the page 69 in the manual (non unibody) that says:
    I point to the lack of warnings regarding heat.

    Now stop waking zombie threads. Bring it up with Apple if you think you have a legit complaint: http://www.apple.com/feedback/
     
  20. macreviewz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #20
    I disagree, the guy is right. Closing a lid 20 times a day to disable a monitor I don't want active. That's aggrevating.
    Alos, the computer performs better, runs cooler with one display on, I got about 15 degrees difference , not just on teh GPU.
    There are apps which do this, but they are a hassle.

    Clamshell with QuadCore Mac Book pros are a dumb idea, they already overheat as is, plus on an Anti Glare display you WILL damage your display because of the long term excessive heat from the keys radiating onto it.

    Why has this not been solved yet?

    I have one large monitor, and to save CPU%, Laptop LCD lifetime , and plain old Energy $, there MUST be a simple way to do this, but there isn't.

    Reopening the LID works, BUT once you walk away, and put your machine into standby, you have to do it again.
    I sometimes eat while working, and do NOT WANT TO TOUCH, my display lid with dirty fingers. That lid stays open all day, and closes at night.

    So yes, the guy nailed it - the baby / child solution with open close lid - is so 2004. Come on guys, seriously?
    :confused:
     
  21. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #21
    This thread is from March 2009, and has already been resurrected once, please let it die.
     
  22. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #22
    And of course this is the part where you provide proof for your assertion.

    -Typed from my Clamshell'd i7 MBP w/ Antiglare.
     
  23. nnoob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #23
    I can confirm that the macbook pro throttle during clamshell mode. Heat is dangerously high because the vent are 90 percent closed... If you keep it @ clamshell while gaming, you will get 80 percent less FPS and alot of lag.. i suggest you to keep it open if you are gaming or doing processor intensive task..

    If you are a die hard fanboy or a troll.
    I got a message for ya
    SHUT THE **** UP
     
  24. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #24
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    You are 100% wrong. The vent is not in any way hindered with the lid closed. If a MBP is throttling while in clamshell mode, there is something wrong with it besides the lid being closed. I use my 2011 2.2 i7 in clamshell most of the time and performance is perfect also heat is a none issue. I play plenty of games on my 1080p monitor without any framerate issues. This myth about heat coming through the keyboard and damaging the screen or logic board needs to die!
     
  25. verbalv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    #25
    Reåsøns Why This Needs to Be Done...

    Mapple Needs to Have a Way to Disable Built In Display with External Display Output

    Reasons:
    •You can already turn it off using the -(Brightness) key
    °Have a way to also turn off the output to the display.
    •It's annoying having an Extended Display on one of the corners of your screen
    °Mouse runs off screen and you have to find it.
    °It abruptly jumps to the LCD display when you're too close to the edge.
    -Very annoying when you have to resize a window.
    °Sometimes windows open on the LCD display for some reason
    -Makes you think it didn't run, mouse isn't working, or program errør.
    -Makes you have to open your lid and drag the window into the External
    °Have to position LCD Display to one of two sides that doesn't have your
    Menu Bar and or Dock which usually isn't where laptop is physically
    positioned with regard to your External Monitor.
    •Running in Mirrored Mode uses your LCD Resolution and looks like **** on
    the External Display
    •All the above mentioned reasons.
    •Lastly, PC's have all had the option of LCD, LCD + External, External
    °Super embarrassing knowing the PC can do something simple that a MAC
    can't
    °Mac should have LCD (1,0), LCD + External (1,1), External(0,1), Nil(0,0)

    Thank You.

    P.S. Look up the MacBook Wheel on Youtube...REVOLUTIONARY!!!
     

Share This Page