Turn off time capsule

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MacHiavelli, May 7, 2008.

  1. MacHiavelli macrumors 6502a

    MacHiavelli

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Location:
    new york
    #1
    Stupid Q, but as there is no switch to turn off the time capsule I know I just have to pull the plug on it. But do I need to check anything before I pull the plug?

    Also have a MBP and ACD. If I want to unplug the ACD to go walkabout, do I need to power the ACD and MBP down, or just unplug the HDMI, USB and Firewire cables and walk away.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Are any computers backing up to the Time Capsule besides yours? If they are, then make sure none of them are actively trying to back up before disconnecting. If not, then it's safe to disconnect.

    As for the ACD, you don't need to power down the MBP to disconnect it, but you should power the ACD down first, before unplugging the cables, otherwise the MBP will complain.
     
  3. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    I guess my first question would be Why are you wanting to turn the TC off? The hard drive spins down when not being used, so at that point it's just like the AEBS.

    But to second the other poster, as long as no one is accessing the TC, then you can unplug it no problem.

    -Kevin
     
  4. mydea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    TC not backing up but is "busy".

    How do I turn off the TC. No computer is backing up but when I try to print, I get a message that the TC is "busy".
     
  5. PASCALE33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #5
    how turn off kust the WLAN

    dear all
    is there any way to turn just the WLAN off of the time capsule, but leave it plugged in? want to avoid the radiation at night for example.
    thank you for your help in case anybody knows
    best
    p
     
  6. seveej macrumors 6502a

    seveej

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #6
    For instance if the TC is in your home office, and you'll be away for a couple of weeks? Last time I was away for a while, allthough no computer had used the TC, it was hot to the touch...

    IMNSHO, not including a function for shutdown is a lapse. Typical apple though.
     
  7. flowdesigner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #7
    Im also interested in this, im using it with ethernet cable only
     
  8. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #8
    In AirPort Utility under the Wireless tab, turn Wireless Mode to Off.
     

Share This Page