Turning on a MacBook without keyboard

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by nitro2k01, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. nitro2k01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #1
    So this is my scenario: I have received a pretty much trashed MacBook. (Damaged screen, keyboard and optical drive) But as far as I can tell though, the CPU is working fine, so I want to recase it somehow and use it as a stationary computer. The only major culprit is the power button, which is situated on the keyboard. How can one emulate pressing the power on button? Do you need the mousepad/keyboard daughter board in order to power it on manually?
    Anyone know the pinout for the connector going to the logic board and/or the pinout for the keyboard matrix connection? I would check this out myself, but keeping a multimeter in place on the ribbon cable and in the same time pressing a key is not too easy.
     
  2. nitro2k01 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #2
    Figured it out myself.
    [​IMG]
    (Carefully) short these two pins using a low-value resistor (100-470 Ohm) You might be able to briefly short the pins using, eg, a screwdriver, however don't blame me if that fries something.
     
  3. claimed4all macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    #3
    Just be warned that if you use it as a stationary computer without the battery the CPU will clock down to 1ghz.
     
  4. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #4
    The only way i can think of is by using wake on ethernet. If you can get it on and manage to set it up, you'll be good to go. Can you use a USB keyboard to turn it on?
     
  5. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #5
    I thought that was a myth?
     
  6. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #6
    Nope, tis the truth.
     
  7. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #7
    so if i were to remove my battery and just use my power adapter, my macbook would only be 1ghz? would i be able to see that in the about this mac window? and why does it do this?
     
  8. PeterQC macrumors 6502a

    PeterQC

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #8
    No. It's real. It's to avoid a system crash by lack of enough energy coming from the plug and potentials damage it can cause.
     
  9. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #9
    thats not a bad feature than. I was just curious anyway, i assume most ppl who buy a laptop are taking it with them sometimes anyway and not just letting it sit at home. either way, how hard is it to unplug it every so often so it uses battery power.
     

Share This Page