Turning power off while using iMac = Problems?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by shorter1, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. shorter1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I'm a new user on these forums, I've had my 24" iMac (3.06Ghz / 4g Ram / 750g h/d / Nvidia 8800 / etc) for about 3 or 4 weeks and I love it but I did a stupid thing today and now I'm paranoid that I could have caused a problem (s).

    I was using XP, just stuffing around, not doing anything major or HDD intensive, and I leant down to turn on my external h/drive at the power point and I accidentally turned off the iMac's power. I left it for about half a minute and booted back up into XP.

    All seemed fine, no reports about not shutting down properly or anything like that but I was just wondering if I could have caused anything with the internals (the HD, GPU, CPU or anything like that)?

    I know I'm only being paranoid at the end of the day, as I said, but better to ask that suffer in my own self induced paranoia. :)

    Thanks.
     
  2. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #2
    Although not a recommended thing to do, it shouldn't have any consequences...I had a power outage at my house over the weekend that only lasted about 20 seconds, but it shut my Mac Mini down instantly...and had me perplexed since I have it plugged into a UPS. Subsequent testing shows the UPS needs a new battery - lesson learned - test your UPS once in a while.

    The Mini started right back up with no problems...but it is kinda scary when that happens, and you hold your breath as it boots.
     
  3. The Hammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    Do that too often and you might be looking at a new HD.
     
  4. squeller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #4
    I'd not worry too much about it. The main thing to worry about is "logical" damage to your data (because of things being unsaved), not physical damage to your computer. You could run a filesystem check if you're worried.
     
  5. shorter1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the replies, my main concern was my HD so I did a couple of those SMART tests both in OsX and in XP, just to be certain, and all is good. The only thing that got me was when using SMART Utility 1.2.1 it was stating "old age" and "pre-fail" under the Attributes section, now I've only had my mac for about a month so the old age thing made me laugh a bit.

    I have a Hitachi HDS721075 KLA360 drive and everything has Passed but not knowing much about this SMART stuff so do I have to be weary of the Old Age and Pre-Fail statements from the test Attributes or is this just techno-jargon?

    Thanks again for your replies.
     

Share This Page