[Tut] Sygic GPS for USA

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by kenv202, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. kenv202 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #1
    YOU MUST BE ON OS 3.0

    =============================
    how to get non-european maps to work on iDA
    =============================

    IDA MAP TOOL KIT DOWNLOAD
    http://rs276.rapidshare.com/files/123735405/pak_kit.zip
    http://rapidshare.com/files/241207642/pak_kit.zip

    Current USA Map Collection
    http://www.noeman.org/gsm/maps/87601-sygic-usa-maps-3-2009-a.html

    1.download the non-european maps(in example i chose california)
    2.download the pak tool kit
    3.extract the non-eu map pak file using pakextract from tool kit
    *note its best to extract the maps into an empty folder since pakU the repackager will pack everything in the directory so if u have anything else in the directory it will pack it and it might mess up your map

    [​IMG]

    4.rename all the file to european name (for example, aus for Australia)

    [​IMG]

    5.open filelist.txt with a text editor and replace all the names again with the european name you chose(using find and replace tool makes this alot easier)

    6.use paku.exe to rebuild the pak and make sure to rename to the the european name you chose (ex. aus.pak)

    [​IMG]

    7. Open the ipa with winrar (or other rar/zip program), browse to

    Payload\Sygic Australia & New Zealand.app\Map\aus

    8. Drag and drop ur new aus.pak into the aus folder inside the ipa, the program will then re-compress to accommodate the new files

    9. open the ipa in itune and THEN install it onto ur iphone 3g!

    10. have fun!

    Credit to superrama from xsellize (i changed it a little bit)

    Pre-Modded Map:

    Illinois - http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=3eafc0d7002af46f0de4fc1039a01674e04e75f6e8ebb871

    P.S

    I will update if people decide to make their own and share. Also if you are looking for a sample ipa, dl the Illinois version i prepared for you !
     
  2. arram macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #2
    Never heard of Sygic or their products but thanks for sharing! I will wait for a pre modded 'Texas' map to come out to try it.
     
  3. arram macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
  4. kenv202 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #4
    if you want texas, i have linked you the link to most of the USA map..dl the texas.map and just follow the tutorial

    the sample ipa i spoke of is the Illinois pre-mod ipa (that is the cracked ipa with just illinois map only)
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Anything like that for the Navigon software?
    They also only released European maps.
     
  6. strike1555 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #6
    wow awesome! i wish there was a way to get the whole country though.

    EDIT: Well, it actually works. Unfortunately the fact that it only works state by state is no good for me....but that's ok considering I only did it just to see what turn by turn is like on an iPhone. The experience was great, got me location quickly and accurately followed me. Bummer no text to speech. Can't wait for the real apps to come out!
     
  7. arram macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #7
    It worked for me too, but I did not like how you cant search for a POI and you have to go thru groups or find it with an exact address.
     
  8. kenv202 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #8
    there is a way with european navigon but noone could figure out how to get search address to work....so sygic is better then nothing

    Originally the app came with 3 maps...you can try adding more and see what happen...
    Maps were: aus, nzl, and another i forgot

    yeah i agree, i wish it could do exact but street intersection beats nothing
     
  9. arram macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #9
    my battery was draining and figured this was the reason. I uninstalled it, I'll wait for tomtom
     

Share This Page