Tutorial How to run your external display at full native resolution on BootCamp! Read

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sheebal, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. sheebal macrumors newbie

    sheebal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #1
    Hello. I've just purchased the 2253BW Samsung monitor. This supports 1680x1050. Now I've set this option in the settings and on the Nvidia control panel but when it's not the true resolution. When I move my mouse to the right, it shows the right side of the screen and when I move my mouse to the left, it shows the tasks, etc.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. sheebal thread starter macrumors newbie

    sheebal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #2
    An update. I looked inside the monitor menu ITSELF and it says I am currently running at 1280x1024.

    Hm... Something sure does not sound right.

    Any help/input would be greatly appreciated!
     
  3. sheebal thread starter macrumors newbie

    sheebal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #3
    Update*

    I finally fixed it! :D

    Here's the method:

    1. Go to http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showforum=93 and download the MOST recent driver released for your MacBook Pro (This is for 8600 GT M only)
    2. Download the driver and the modified INF.
    3. http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=33 < Follow those EXACT same steps.
    4. Go to Nvidia control panel and click on advanced view. Then go to "Set up multiple displays". Choose the bullet point labeled, "Only use one display (SINGLE)
    5. Then from the dropdown menu, choose your display (For me it was Samsung sycmaster)
    6. Hit apply and enjoy your full native screen on Windows XP!
    Editors Note*

    Although this has taken me over 6 hours to do and figure out, please do at least give a thanks or a word of reply. It is 1:48 Am in the morning and I have no slept in the past two days because of work.

    Thank you and enjoy!
     
  4. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    I am having a similar problem with my iMac, and am thinking it may be due to out of date drivers. In your 6 hours of hunting, did you happen to stumble upon a site with all the latest ATI drivers that would work on an iMac? I checked the site you posted quickly, but it looks like the site is only for laptop cards.

    Thanks
     
  5. sheebal thread starter macrumors newbie

    sheebal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #5
    Could you please post what OS you have? Including whether it is 32 bit or 64 bit?

    Thank you. I will find it for you

    P.S. Please give me your graphics card model as well.
     
  6. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    I am using 32 bit xp with the radeon x1600.

    Thanks!
     
  7. sheebal thread starter macrumors newbie

    sheebal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #7
  8. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Thanks for the legwork here, but it says access denied when I follow the link.
     
  9. sheebal thread starter macrumors newbie

    sheebal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #9
    I apologize. Guess ATI does not like downloads remotely.

    I have uploaded it to rapidshare.com on my private account. I have enabled trafficshare so that you can download instantly.

    Please tell me the aftermath.

    Code:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/170399008/8-11_xp32_dd_ccc_wdm_enu_70226.exe
     
  10. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Thanks a lot, I will download this when I get home from work and let you know what hapens.
     

Share This Page